SWEENEY TOOK BACK STATEMENT HE MADE ON MT SALEM WOMEN

Omar Sweeney, Managing Director of the Jamaica Social Investment Fund (JSIF), has retracted the figures he disclosed on Thursday on the number of young women in Mount Salem, St. James who he said are engaged in some form of prostitution.

The area was declared a Zone of Special Operations nearly a month ago.

At a Rotary Club of Kingston Luncheon Meeting on Thursday, Mr. Sweeney stated that 85 per cent of young women were involved in a form of prostitution.

However, speaking on RJR’s Hotline programme on Friday morning, Mr. Sweeney clarified that the figure from the Statistical Institute of Jamaica was a composite number of males and females.

He said the figure for teenage girls was in fact 70 per cent.

He also clarified that the girls were not all engaged in so called ‘prostitution’ as he had earlier stated.

“I did say it and I want to correct that now…because s*x for money is not necessarily prostitution and we have to be clear about that because in some instances, as we know, persons have different vulnerabilities and there can be a number of reasons why s*x for money occurs,” he asserted.

Mr. Sweeney said the statistics came from a Social Development Commission focus group study conducted in 2016, involving 50 respondents who answered the question of how their basic needs were met financially.

11 thoughts on “SWEENEY TOOK BACK STATEMENT HE MADE ON MT SALEM WOMEN

1. :nerd sex fi money is not always prostitution? One a mi learnED fren dem fwd n help deh, do! And u kno there may be some vulnerabilities?

1. Fam you know a shit, piss and vomit him a chat.

Somebody should slap him pon him mouth with 2be4!

I’m one to say Pinkwall attracts people from all walks of life, hence scholarly disciplines. Now…we done know in statistics/research principles that this f**ka yah data corrupt! How him fi use 50 people from a population of approximately 4800 conclude at 85% of the entire feamles in the community being prostitutes?!

Chances are him 50 participants were made available to him through CONVENIENCE, for which we know is lazy, and creates faulty data.

Sweeny! Go SYM!

1. How him fi use 50 people from a population of approximately 4800 conclude at 85% of the entire females in the community being prostitutes?

Do you know anything about statistics and sample size? You are only showing your lack of knowledge/ignorance….midget! If you need any help in that department, I will be more than happy to expand your knowledge base on the subject!

1. Because you can never survey all if them. Random sampling of 50 people from the community. That’s kids how data gathering go

1. A
            mussy
            “kids”
            him
            sample.
            That
            shit
            is
            faulty
            because
            that
            man
            dis
            NOT
            do
            random
            sampling.
            Statistics
            MUST
            be
            queationes
            because
            it
            is
            often
            times
            uae
            to
            serve
            a
            damn
            agenda.
            The
            man
            got
            caught
            trying
            to
            push
            his
            agenda
            ….that
            is
            how
            statistics
            Exposh
            ExposExpose
            You
            shady
            phuckers ! :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

2. The
            sample
            size
            wasn’t
            enouch
            to
            create
            such
            a
            stigma
            in
            the
            community.
            Females
            who
            were
            already
            prostitutes,
            in
            custody,
            asked
            a
            qurstion
            that
            gave
            no
            other
            option
            but
            yes,
            or
            surveyed
            under
            stress
            should
            be
            rejected
            as
            being
            conclusive.

2. So WHY didn’t you share the knowledge
          you know and hold so dearly?

Go CONVENIENTLY HOLD 50 suck YU MADDA. And me will HOLD 500 RANDOM SUCk my mothers.

Instead of FACTS you come fi argue. Me never claim to be a mathematician or hold a degree in statistics BUT ME SURE KNOW HOW FI USE RESEARCH METHODS. And you CANNOT use 50 people from a population of 4800 to declare that prostitution is the everday life of 85% of the entire population living in Mt. Salem!

Again GO SUCK YOU MADDA!

3. @PhantomPhoenix. on October 1, 2017 at 9:31 am BUT ME SURE KNOW HOW FI USE RESEARCH METHODS. And you CANNOT use 50 people from a population of 4800 to declare that prostitution is the everday life of 85% of the entire population living in Mt. Salem!

Again, you are REALLY DENSE!!! The sample size for electoral polls in the USA is 800 – 1,200 (average about 1,000), covering over 200 million electorates. Clearly, your lack of basic statistically knowledge only exposed your overall deficiencies and you seek to cover those flaws by telling an adult to “GO SUCK YUH MADDA”. I can see where your research methodologies are grounded or originates. I will look no further than under your mother! :thumbup

2. Sweeney you’re a disgracetek whey yourself Fi misleading the nation.Big man n Big woman ting..yuh deserve a couple SYM fi true.

3. He’s a man I respect, a good boss etc..from back in the day, BUT you cannot make certain mistakes. Must must communicate accurately what the data says or what happening now will be an embarrassment that won’t go away. Social interventions and poverty alleviation is all that’s done at jsif, so he is privy to things the rest of us are not. BUT…from mi hear the argue t i said some clarification is needed here. Not a good look at all sir.