good day pink was. we want to get this story out and thought your medium was a great way to do so. we Jamaicans have been stranded in Antigua for months now and some are with out place to live and food to eat so when we heard the government was in negotiations with Caribbean airlines on order to get a flight to take us home just like the other few Caribbean islands, we were elated. We were told to book our seats and once we have a valid ticket we will be allowed to go home which we did. The flight was initially supposed to be on Sunday but was cancelled until Tuedsay in order to give others to prepare on short notice. At no point were we told we will have to pay once we had a valid ticket only thing we had to pay for was maybe to change the date on the ticket which was about 100usd which is kinda hart to find when your stranded but still you would better be able to ask around and get the assistance with a sum like that. with that being said we all prepared and were waiting to hear from Caribbean airlines in regards to the booking etc. we waited the whole weekend just to get a call yesterday (monday) to say that the flight will cost 746usd and we will have to pay that to go home if we do not have a valid ticket but if you do you will have to pay between 400+ and 500+ usd to be on the flight. in these times where are we supposed to get that kind of money from? we can barley find money to survive day to day much less. some people only came to spend 3 weeks to a month and brought that amount of money to suffice until then but got stranded here. was this really the best Mr Andrew Holness could do for his people? not everyone has relatives to call on. and I’m my case in travelling with my 3 year old child who also has a valid return ticket and they ask me to pay 876usd for both of us to be on that flight again I ask where do I get such ridiculous amounts of money after being stranded and on 24hour lock down for months. not to mention the Caribbean airlines stuff who were doing the check ins treated us like dogs the airport officials even throw us all out the airport and closed the door saying we’re not social distancing bearing in mind there was over 200 people there trying to get book. I just want people to know what we went through here today and the end result is most of us are still stranded some let were they were staying in Hope’s of going home and cant return there now so they are without proper shelter which is total bs. we need to know if this is really the agreement Mr PM made on our behalf because if so it’s a crying shame
The PM/ government didn’t send you anywhere.
Bwoy some Jamaicans backward as hell thts y shit always happen to y’all. When unoo traveling take extra spending money just in case if unoo nuh have that then unoo nuh fi travel in the first place. Always expect the unexpected especially when your in a place that is different from your usual habitat or home country. If don’t have extra funds for incidentals when traveling take out travel insurance in case unoo run up in any problems such as exhibit A stuck in another Caribbean island for months with no money, no shelter and worse no money for return airfare.