- by Met
The Miss Universe 2017 second runner-up offered congratulations to her eventual replacement, adding that she will continue her philanthropic work.
“I will… continue to advocate on behalf of the deaf community through my foundation, as well as proudly represent my country throughout the world. I hope to remain an inspiration for all young women on their path to success. Thank you for your support,” she added.
Signs of the break down in the relationship between the beauty queen and the local franchise holder came to light earlier this year when Bennett, in a post on Instagram, distanced herself from Uzuri and told the organisation to stop posting content about her on its social media pages.
She made the rebuke as she celebrated signing a deal with American cosmetic company Shea Moisture.
The post was later deleted.
Since then, Bennett has been under new management and has not associated with the local franchise holder.
An Uzuri representative, when contacted by The Gleaner, stated that the organisation is focusing on producing an excellent show for tonight’s ceremony at the Jamaica Pegasus in New Kingston, St Andrew.
Twenty-four contestants are vying for the Miss Universe Jamaica 2018 crown.
Yuh see when yuh hype. Where is the white man she was traveling the world wid? Why him nuh come talk up. Oh him deh pon fraud charges. Davina, run outta here. BYE!!
And as quickly as that she fell from grace, sad.