The children of a deceased Trelawny man are seeking permission from the State to exhume his body after he was buried by his wife without their knowledge.
One of the children, Joan Campbell, said that her father, George Campbell, 89, died on March 11, and she was informed by his ‘estranged’ wife that he was buried on April 27.
“He died at the St Ann’s Bay Hospital, and the wife go for the medical certificate of the cause of death,” Campbell said. “When I went to her and told her that I come to arrange my father’s funeral, she said that mi father all right. Then after that we start to hear rumours that my father is buried.”
She added: “We went to her with the police to find out if it was true, and she said, ‘yes’. He asked her why she didn’t inform us, and she said because she is the wife.”
Not grant permission
According to attorney-at-law Bert Samuels, the wife has first options to take charge of funeral proceedings.
“She is entitled to the estate, so if she is a lawful wife, she has that authority, unfortunately,” Samuels explained.
Campbell told THE STAR that she wants her father’s body to be exhumed to give her and her other siblings a chance to ensure that their father gets a good burial.
But Samuels said that he is almost certain that the State will not grant permission for them to do so.
“The Government not going to give permission for that,” Samuels said. “We only exhume for criminal investigations.”
Meanwhile, director for the House of Tranquillity Funeral Home, Joseph Cornwall, told THE STAR that cases of this nature are not rare.
“These are things that we see happen all the time. Sometimes the wives even move the bodies if they feel like the funeral home are not on their sides,” Cornwall explained.
awh boi, it would appears that she and the man kids don’t get along and really that was very petty of her to do such a thing. She should allowed the kid to say farewell to their dad, all if them never like her while he was alive. Sad
She coulda mek dem come see dem father off doe…
Wukless picni dem. If they were in there father’s life like that. You would know when he died An when he’s to be buried
This is pretty much a wicked selfish act on the part of the wife! I can’t fathom the husband not wanting his kids at his sending off!!
She buried the man 5 weeks after he died. She was probably the one paying for him to be in the morgue. One whole month pass and nobody in your family or neighbour couldn’t tell you your father died? And you knew he was in the hospital? Hmmmm….something sound fishy. I’m not gonna call wicked just yet…
Thank u!
READ THE F**KIN SUMN GOOD NUH DUNCE BAT !!
When I went to her and told her that I come to arrange my father’s funeral, she said that mi father all right. Then after that we start to hear rumours that my father is buried.
So you duppy bat, if she said to you that your father is alright, then that nuh mean that she making plans to bury him herself? WTF did you think “him alright” means????? Unu a wicked and obviously never close to the father, bet say a the wife clean him and feed him. Leave the man body alone, if you need to do something put on a headstone or something. Plant flowers. I wouldn’t mind u go dig up the body and piece a curse unleash on you. Wicked gal.
So how long did you expect the morgue to keep the body. The woman waited 5 weeks. Obviously you were not contributing anything for the body to be there. Yuh think funeral home free? They charge you per day. When she said your father was ok…what did you say…if it wasnt something along the lines like Miss ( whateva her name was) , lets put our difference aside, let me go buy him burial clothes or casket or 2 white rum fi di nine night….STFU and get outa here. Yuh think metters fool?….chu
So. Not to be insensitive BUT they want to exhume a decomposing body, only to bury it again, in order to ensure that their father gets a decent burial??? It would make more sense had she said that she wants the body to be exhumed because she suspects foul play. Something is very off about the relationship amoung all the players, dead man included.
my step father dead and buried bout five years now and all now I don’t think him one Pickney weh him have know if him still alive or not…when parents and dem Pickney nuh live good while dem alive and well it nah go get betta when one party die. The woman fulfill har duty as a wife and dem come now a mek problem fi save face, you don’t need a body to hold a memorial service for your loved one, no church will refuse you that. Buy a coffin a go lie dung in deh Kmt