Ebola-affected West African countries of Guinea, Liberia and Sierra
Leone.
A statement from the National Security Ministry says the ban extends
to persons ordinarily resident in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone as
well as persons who have travelled to or transited through the
countries in the past 28 days.
The travel ban also extends to Commonwealth citizens, not citizens of
Jamaica, who have travelled to or transited through Guinea, Liberia
and Sierra Leone within 28 days of their arrival to Jamaica.
The Ministry says CARICOM nationals benefitting from the free movement
regime are also subject to this landing restriction which is a
temporary measure necessary for the protection of human and animal
health.
Jamaican citizens and residents, who have travelled to Guinea, Liberia
and Sierra Leone within 28 days of their arrival to Jamaica, will be
quarantined in the interest of public health and national security
upon their arrival in Jamaica.
This applies equally to any person having a right of entry pursuant to
Jamaica’s obligations under international organization head quarters
agreements.
Jamaican citizens who have travelled to Guinea, Liberia and Sierra
Leone within 28 days of their arrival to Jamaica, will be quarantined
in the interest of public health and national security upon their
arrival in Jamaica. The general public is advised that the Government
of Jamaica reserves the right to screen all Jamaican nationals.
According to the World Health Organization the present Ebola outbreak
is the largest and most complex since the discovery of the disease in
1976; hence this decision has been made against the background of the
outbreak in West Africa since March 2014, and its continued increasing
threat to world health and security of Jamaican citizens.

0 thoughts on “WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT; JAMAICA BANS EBOLA STICKEN COUNTRIES FROM ENTERING

1. We likkle but we tallawah! We nah tek nu rass chance when we already have mosquito virus. We poor but we nu fool. Big up me Island Nation! ALL day EVERYDAY.

2. Ah dat mi talk bout PP :2thumbup :2thumbup Wrerse dem ah get ready fi big big Heroes Day celebration :selamat Between me an you PP, mi hear seh Nanny show har self tuh Portia wid Bustamante, Norman Manley, Paul Bogle, Sam Sharpe and di res ah dem backa har an mek har knoe seh if she nuh mek dah call deh, den dem nah lef widout har.

1. I hope that is Iron clad truth! Dem a function like say a dem OWN Jamaica or a fe dem bloodshed fi we get freedom. A hope she never did have Hanna unda har when dem appear! :hammer

3. long rass time me a sing dah song yah band band band we cant tek a ebola outbreak, poor ja couldnt tek it a rass!!!

4. Mek mi tell unu sinting…if dem try bring Ebola come ah yawd, Jamaicans will hold dem ah wop wop dem damage dem worse dan what di Ebola virus wi duh dem..di amount ah beaten dem wi get..

Leave a Reply to PhantomPhoenix Cancel reply