Cops are searching for the estranged husband of a 44-year-old nursing assistant found stabbed to death in her Bronx apartment Saturday.
Sophia Lamb’s mother found her sprawled out on the living room floor in their shared Baychester Ave. home near Aldrich St. in Co-op City at 1:45 p.m., police said.
Lamb died at the scene.
Her husband, identified by relatives as Andre Curtis, was kicked out of the home weeks ago — but was back Friday night trying to talk to Lamb, her mother, Sylvia Malcolm told the Daily News.
Man fatally stabbed outside Queens home Thanksgiving afternoon
“He was just here yesterday,” Malcolm said.
“He said, ‘I want to talk to you,’ and I said, ‘I don’t want to talk to you, but I forgive you.’”
Judy Richards, sister of Sophia Lamb, who was found dead in her Bronx apartment, holds up a photo of Andre Curtis, who is a suspect in the murder.
Judy Richards, sister of Sophia Lamb, who was found dead in her Bronx apartment, holds up a photo of Andre Curtis, who is a suspect in the murder. (MICHAEL SCHWARTZ/FOR NEW YORK DAILY NEWS)
Police were eyeing Lamb’s husband as a “person of interest,” and no one was charged with the killing as of Saturday night.
Curtis moved into the apartment with Lamb and her parents in June after emigrating from Jamaica, relatives said.
The pair had met on the Caribbean island 15 years ago.
Within a month of moving to the Bronx, Curtis’ normally cheery personality changed — and he became cold and controlling, said Lamb’s father, Audley Malcolm.
“She wanted to have dinner with her sister, he said no. She would come home late from work and it’s a problem,” the grieving dad said.
“I told her, go to Immigration [Services] and cry like you’ve never cried before, throw yourself on the floor and tell them you’re not leaving until they come and take him back to Jamaica.”
Lamb’s co-workers at Blythedale Children’s Hospital in Valhalla, Westchester County, were among those who rushed to the scene in disbelief.
Mourners huddled in the building’s lobby and sobbed as technicians from the city medical examiner’s office carried Lamb’s body out of the building.
“I don’t have an appetite, I don’t want anything to drink, this makes me sick,” said Lamb’s neighbor Bobby Hood, 21.
“You can’t rationalize evil.”
Wow Rip but that’s alot of ppl living in a small apartment
That’s all you gathered from the article? How do you know the size of their apartment? Evrn if it small, dem neva once beg yu a kotch so go drink bleach mixed with botic acid ole nastiness. Let’s hope you live in a mansion that’s paid off you useless waste.
So a mad di man mad? What a sad turn of events and utter sorrow for what appears to be a closenit family.
i need to write a book on this topic of people going back to jamaica and filing for so call love ones to come live with them here,IT DOESNT WORK,NEVER HAVE,NEVER WILL.
This mad man come kill the people child. Sick bastard. She never know who she married. Find him and lock him up.
Sorry to say, I DONT recommend no one marrying anyone from Jamaica. It just seems like most of them are energy suckers and crosses. When they come up here, they mash up the good people life. They are a set of ungrateful people. The men especially don’t like to see their women doing better than them. Instead of taking sound advice and doing the right thing, they take their anger on their spouse.
Man and woman just have this nasty ass attitude like it’s gold up here and set high expectations as if dem use to shit. Then they turn around and diss the one who help them. But, they up her with no valid education. No valid skills. Expect people to hand over the jobs to them. I hear countless stories of these over and over.
Jamaican people dont love. They only love likes. Anything dem can get for themselves they go along for the ride until the gas runs out and they run. I know of someone that marry to one. Her mother told her dont buy house with with the man. She did anyway. Within a year or two after buying the house, man submit divorce papers. Chat bout he want house and alimony??? I dont know who told him to do that. That really works for woman.
Jamaican man down there are only good for a good slam. As a partner, no I’ll pass.
Crosses like yu dutty mumma dutty waste gal weh Jamaican man use fe a one night slam.
You chat too mucken fuch bout sh*t you do not know. You bright fi come pon a site owned bya Jamaican and chat your shit. These people do not represent ALL Jamaicans. You are ignorant and if this is who I think it is YOU ARE OBSESSED WITH JAMAICANS….IS WHAT YUH MAN OR GYAL LEF U FI ONE. I hope the people dem dunne yuh nastiness…if you are that Trini b*tch just know yuh need help….yes Jamaicans arent loving or the one who love u did want yuh neva get????????? A Sunday yuh cook yuh watery peas and rice and yuh imitation oxtail……or did you opt for baked monkey brains????????? GWEY MON CHO
Wow there’s no way u seriously Boxing an entire set of ppl,is wha Jamaicans Do yuh? Anywayzee it’s Sunday n wi making an effort to keep it holy so nah argue with yuh fi ur misinformed,misguided views TiDay.
Ketch yuh Monday mawning though (smile) smh!
But look pon di epistle weh dis waste write :marah Mi doe waan get inna nuttn wid dunce people enuh, but it burn mi when dem come generalize and categorize like dem have data fi back it up. Good and bad deh all bout, and mi nah join di dunce bandwagon and lick out gainst Jamaican man nuh time. If yuh hole and yuh fren dem hole attract di mad one dem, den speak tuh yuh hole. Don’t come pon di Wall and preach like Paul. We doe waan hear it :marah
@2:58 don’t worry bout my living space ole germs don’t come for me jus a state my opinion like all other bloggers here n for your info I’m sure the decease get plenty threats frm the man him a go kill her before him kill her pity she never take sleep mark death wen a man threaten u 9 times out of 10 they will make on the promise but probably she frighten Fi ring n wife title she go pickup this looser Fi come take her life warnings was all there even the sister mentioned it in the article
That why me always say when people go Jamaica these man tell you anything to get them way you see him pan fb a hype up him self a pose with suit case dam son of a bitch kill the people dem gal Pickney nice till him get what him want sick stomach as dem reach a foreign and know the bus route dem change
Off topic the gal chin Morris baby father get sentence a federal court she claim him say sorry and love her off course him need the help till him done him sentance why a prison after sentance Jim remember to tell you that and the way she fool fool she put it pan fb hello girls wake up ya man
To the family, friends, co-workers, and loved ones of the deceased, sorry about your loss.
True jamaican man a the worse who no like it Chuck off them too licky licky only luv likes and if u no have nothing fi offer them they will find another woman that can and leave u and them come in like woman mamma man them watch and chat like gal!!
When a decent man approach a woman with love and respect dem say him soft or too nice but when a man who just want some pum pum walk up to dem zooopz dem gone home with him. That work good for a while then dem say dem pum pum can change him. I swear 99% of women I encounter like superficial shit like big cocky, confidence and dollars as first criteria. Bun me when women Gwaan like only certain type a man can handle dem business but once a woman get some good love she will understand but dem need to be smarter . Thug love NEVER rass work out more than nine days..
As a Jamaican woman who born and raised in Jamaica, now living in the US, I don’t know of any good Jamaican man, not even my own father sad to say. The majority of Jamaican men disrespect their women, yes good and bad is everywhere, but it is slowly becoming normal within our culture for Jamaican men to disrespect and abuse their women. Nuff Jamaican a guh deny, because dem luv support fu**ery! All when di man dem a kick unnu inna unnu bbclt face, and breed ten woman pan unnu!
Sorry yuh feel dah way deh. Maybe yuh need fi move in a different circle. Ah nuff Jamaican man mi knoe. Married one fi 15 years now and we ah nuh senior citizens. Most of him friend dem ah Jamaican, and ALL ah dem educated wid advanced degree. Dem wife like miself nuh tek disrespect. Mi waan knoe is which man woulda bright dem way deh and mi still heng round dem. Good Jamaican men still deh bout.
My condolence to the family. Very sad ending and I hope they find the murderer and give him his just punishment.
Condolences to the family. RIP lady
It just sad to know that there’s so much evil out there and there is time that you don’t know a man or a woman until it is too late. May her soul rest in peace and I pray that they catch the bastard before he try to leave the state… Some Jamaican man can’t be trusted and they are some who are uses and they tell you what they think you want to hear to have you do things for them and when they don’t need you no more they leave you for someone else, your job is done and they dash you weh even though you held them down, then type of men will pay though, leave him to God… He will be caught and his going to pay for his crime…