Two Wednesdays ago, Ackaisha Green was inside the ATM at Central Police Station on East Queen Street in downtown Kingston when she stumbled upon a stash of cash suspected to be in the millions of dollars. But she felt it was not hers to keep.
The money could have gone a long way for the mother of two who ekes out a living in inner-city James Street in Central Kingston. But she insisted that handing over the money was the right thing to do.
“Mi could a take it weh, but mi never take it weh. On my way coming out with it I saw two police officers, and mi say ‘Sir, I found a bag of money and I don’t know what to do with it’,” Green recounted to the Jamaica Observer.
A police officer assigned to Kingston Central Police Station corroborated Green’s story about returning the lost money. The officer, who asked not to be identified because she was not present at the time, told the Observer that she heard about the incident from her colleagues. She was unable to say how much money was inside the bag.
“Due to how it was stacked together it wasn’t easy to check, but it was certainly a large sum of money,” the policewoman said.
According to Green, she was with her soon-to-be two-year-old son, Joshua, inside the ATM when she noticed he was very preoccupied with a large transparent plastic with money.
“Mi swear say a paper him a play with. When mi bend down and look is a bag of money the baby bend down a play with. You know the clear bag, like comforter spread bag, one whole heap a money wrap up together,” she said.
Noting that the bag contained $5,000 and $1,000 notes, the woman said she immediately went inside the station and handed over the money to the police.
Within minutes, an armoured truck bearer, who had apparently forgotten the bag of money in the ATM, ran into the station, breathless. The undisclosed sum of money was subsequently handed over to him, police at the station said.
Last Tuesday morning when the Observer visited Green, she received a heavy tongue-lashing from her mother who described her as “the stupidest of all my children”.
“A mi she beg $200 this morning to give her son to go to school,” the mother complained, with a loud hiss of her teeth.
Green claimed that her three-month contract at the University Hospital of the West Indies, where she worked as a porter, had ended recently. “Mi have use fi di money; mi could a take the money, but it no belong to me. Right now me would a love some of it, but that was the right thing to do,” she repeated, as she got ready to visit an employment agency.
“Nuff people say me shouldn’t do it, but mi give it back,” she added.
The 24-year-old, who made it clear that she wants to pursue a house-keeping course at the HEART Trust/NTA, said she needed a skill that would allow her to sustain her family.
The Observer was unable up to press time to ascertain the name of the security agency which was carrying the money, apparently to service ATMs.
Watch how the blessings flow for her now. God is good!
LET ME TELL YOU………….
THIS LADY RIGHT HERE HAS A GOOD HEART; SUPER PROUD THAT SHE HANDED OVER THAT MONEY.
HER MOTHER REAL SERIOUS, “GAL BROKE, BEG MOM MONEY, YET SHE HANDED OVER THOUSAND IF NOT MILLION DOLLARS”. MADA VEX NUH RASS LOL LOL
MOM I SEE HOW WE CAN GET MISLEAD AND THINK TAKING THAT MONEY WAS THE RIGHT THING….
IMAGINE BEING BROKE LIKE CHURCH MOUSE AND FOUND A BAG A CASH…. JESUS TAKE THE WHEEL.
SHE’S VERY NOBLE AND HONEST
Or
SHE GIVE BACK HAR BLESSINGS
what says you?
Def NOBLE and HONEST
She will be a great trustworthy employee.
If and when she has her own business, she will be the type of person people will want to do business with.
YOUR DAUGHTER DID THE RIGHT THING……..
THAT TRUCK DRIVER SHOULD AT LEAST TRY AND REACH OUT TO THIS LADY…
HE WOULD DEF HAS LOFT HIS JOB, IF THAT MONEY COULDN’T BE ACCOUNTED OR AT THE END OF HIS SHIFT.
HIM NEED TO HELP THIS LADY PAY FOR THE HOUSE KEEPING DEGREE.
THAT’S THE LEAST HE CAN DO.
Right thing to do very honest…You will get your blessings from God… dont even bother listening to your mother because I am sure they have cameras in the ATM and she would be ashamed when your face is plastered over the news and cursed you then. Right move girl
Good for you hun! Your blessings will come. Next thing you take the money and unnecessary problem follow you up.
All the baby vex lol.
You know what, she’ll be getting more help now.
God will reward you I can’t tell what I would do, until it happen to me.
Dear lord why these things no happen when me go in a atm,she really a stupid girl lol.
Mi sure yuh nuh mean that.
listen i too was like “gal u really gave up all that $$$$ and u broke like shit?”
Then my 2nd thought was.. that $ didn’t belong to her to keep in the 1st place……. plus atm has multiple cameras that captured her photos. they would have found here in hrs anyways.
I don’t think she did a stupid thing because she is a mother and her actions will roll off on her children. It may not be today or tomorrow that her action will bear fruit, but it will be a day. I don’t wrong you young girl, when you are a mother there are things you just cannot do. See, is somebody’s job that would be in jeopardy if she had held on to the money. What if that person has a sick child or parent and they need that job to care for them. You did the right thing young girl and you are a living testimony that honest young ppl are still about in Jamaica. I wish you all the best for your future and I am sure now that this news is out there employers will be knocking on your door with offers of employment.
Good for her, she was probably on camera and would be hunted down like a criminal and go jail leave her two children; no amount a money worth that. And even if she was not on camera, karma is a bitch and something bad probably would have happened to her and that money. Oh and that poor armor truck driver would have lost his job that is feeding his family and extended family etc. Thank God for honest people no matter how hard they have it; she has a real blessing coming her way with no sorrow added to it that does not require her to sell her soul!
Cameras inside there, they would post her pics and hunt her down. They should at least give her a reward
A business man is setting something up for her, I saw it on Twitter. Her blessings are coming. The mother is a idiot . If the ATM had a camera they would have tracked her down anyway. God tested her and she passed
Good for you my girl.
Young lady they wouldn’t give you a job in the bank or train you .. but honesty is the best policy .. watch and wait how God is going to bless you…
IT COULD BE A DRUG DEALER MONEY , FRAUD OR THIEFING MONEY, FROM I DID NOT SEE ON THE NEWS THAT SUCH AMOUNT OF MONEY MISSING IN SUCH AREA ETC ETC……….NOT RETURNING SHIT SORRY, I LIVE IN CANADA AND I WILL NOT RETURN, SHE LOOK FOOL FI TRUE…LOL HONESTY NOT ALWAYS THE BEST POLICY
gal u crazy…..
Honesty is always the best policy. the truth always comes out!!!
Gwan stay a Canada wid yuh broke self; bout the gal a idiot…………
@YYYYY, you are only kidding yourself you would never get away with that in Canada all the ATMS are surrounded by cameras. It was not “drug dealer money,fraud or theifing money” the armoured truck bearer returned to look for the money. She did the right thing God is going to work it out for her.