- by Met
My lord, my wife has turned herself into a nuisance in the home. What she loves to do best is to fight. She steps into the new day fighting and rounds up the day the same way. When she’s fighting, she acts like a mad woman.”
Rasheed Ariyibi has approached Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, seeking that it terminates the 14-year-old wedlock between him and his wife, Idayat Ariyibi.
Rasheed further prayed the court that if his prayer was granted, it should award him custody of their four children also restrain his wife from coming to fight him either at home or at his work place.
“The greatest mistake I ever made in life was marrying my wife. She’s troublesome and only feels fulfilled after she has fought me. We started fighting from the Day one of our marriage. Anytime we fight, the whole compound will be turned upside down.
“She’s stubborn and will never take to correction. She also disrespects me and flouts my orders. She has made our marriage hell.
“She also abandoned her responsibilities in the home. She doesn’t care for the home or gives our children the necessary attention. No matter the amount I give her as feeding allowance, our children still look unfed.
“I reported her to her parents but she still failed to change. My parents tried to mediate in our differences but she was rude to them. She accused them of taking sides with me.
“Her parents and mine met to discuss our issue in order that peace might reign, but she went back to her old ways soon after they did.
“We moved to our new house and within some few weeks we were known in our neighbourhood because of my wife’s troublesome nature, “Idayat said.
“I decided to take a new wife who will help me run my house the way I had always wanted, but hell was let loose. She swore and cursed the day she moved in.
“She and my new wife never saw eye to eye because she was always finding faults in all that she did and will always provoke her to a fight. Our matter had been taken to the Landlord’s association on many occasions which I find humiliating.
“My family members later met on our issue and advised that my wives and I move out of the house for a while and we did. She moved into an environment which is not descent enough to raise children.
“My lord, I’ve had enough of my wife’s troublesome nature, please separate us and grant me custody of our children,” he concluded.
“My lord, all he said about me are lies. I’ve not enjoyed any intimacy with my husband since we got married because he was always marrying new wives. When any of his wives leaves, he will marry a new one within a short period.
“He brought in a new wife immediately we moved into our new house and she turned our home upside down.
“My husband told me to stop having children after we have had four. We actually had six but lost two of them.
“I went for family planning but this failed and I got pregnant again. My husband was mad when he learnt I had taken in again. He became aloof. He accused me of competing with his new wife who had also taken in and humiliated me in her presence.
“I put to bed few days before she did but lost the baby. My husband showed no concern nor said a word of comfort to me.
“I went with my rival to the hospital when she was due and stood by her till she delivered.
“I attended to her at home after putting to bed. I fetched water, washed her clothes and attended to her baby, but all my husband did was to taunt me.
“He told me he wanted to hold the baby’s naming ceremony and advised that I leave home for some days if I knew I would not be able to hold myself.
“My lord, none of his family members attended the ceremony because they were not in support of what he did. They considered him as being insensitive to my plight.
“My husband lacks the required wisdom to run his home especially that he has more than a wife. This often results in regular fight between us and also his wife.
“His father told me he was the one who sold the idea of everyone moving out of our home to them so that he could get rid of me, ”Idayat said.
Speaking after listening to the duo, the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje stated that more evidence would be needed before judgment was given.
He, therefore, adjourned the case till January 19, 2018 and ordered the couple to come to court with their children and parents.
Beat up him rass yes bout yuh go tek next wife.