WTF AFRICA- WIFE NUH WANT DI HUSBAND

I’m Indebted To Banks On My Husband’s Behalf; He Almost Strangled Me To Death

My life is battered and shattered as a result of the inhuman treatment meted out to me by my husband. He smokes Indian hemp, drinks himself to stupour and abuses me violently. He once almost strangled me in the middle of the night and at another time attempted to stab me. He has ruined my career while I remained indebted to a bank as a result of the money I borrowed on his behalf. It’s not likely I live to see another day if I remain under his roof.” That was the wife.

Then the husband: “She once slapped me early in our marriage. Though her family members have poisoned her mind against me, I still love her. To show my commitment to our marriage, I sent the other woman I met after she left me packing when she moved back to my house.”

These were part of the evidence given by a couple, Oluwatoyin Adebayo and Adekola Adebayo before Oja Oba/ Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State.

Oluwatoyin had approached the court seeking that it puts an end to the relationship between her and her husband.

According to the plaintiff, she has suffered enough violence, abuse and humiliation in the hands of her husband and is presently depressed. Oluwatoyin emphasised that another night under her husband’s roof can lead to her death. She thus appealed to the court to grant her prayer of divorce so that they can go their different ways.

Adekola, responding to the claim against him, refused to admit to divorce.

Oluwatoyin, giving her evidence in full, stated thus:”My lord, my life is battered and shattered. The worst decision I ever made in life is that of marrying my husband.

“I was head over heels in love with him and never gave attention to his short comings and now I’m paying dearly for it.

“My lord, I’m married to a reckless human being whose main pre occupation is to smoke Indian hemp like a chimney. He’s a habitual drunkard and a brute. My husband has constantly failed to carry out his duties as breadwinner in the home. I play a dual role of mummy and daddy to our children. He has never been there.

“He shows no love or affection towards me and our children. All that matters to him is his bottle of beer and wraps of Indian hemp.

“The earliest time he returns home is 11:00 p.m. He staggers home under the influence of alcohol.

“Many times, despite coming home late, but high as a result of Indian hemp and being under the influence of alcohol, he will beat me for complaining about his shameful act and wake our neighbours up. There were times he beat me in my sleep.

“He strangled me on one of such occasions and I would have given up the ghost but for our neighbours who forced themselves into our apartment when they heard our children wailing.

“He has beaten me and sent me out of the house in the middle of the night times without number. He once beat me and I was hospitalised for weeks. I lived only on fluid for two weeks during this period, “the plaintiff said.

“I bought all the property in our possession. He contributed nothing to making life easy or comfortable for me and our children.

“I took loans on his behalf from banks and I’m still indebted to these banks. He used one of these loans to buy a car which got involved in an accident.

“My lord, he threatened to kill me; he drew a knife at me during an argument and would have stabbed me. I still can’t explain how I escaped death that night.

“I’m afraid of my husband. He has succeeded in ruining my career and turning me into a psychological wreck.

“My lord, all I pray this honourable court is to end our union and grant me custody of our two children, “Oluwatoyin concluded.

“My lord, I don’t agree to divorce, “Adekola told the court.

“I love my wife dearly but her family members have succeeded in poisoning her mind against me.

“Oluwatoyin once slapped me during an argument early in our marriage but I overlooked it because I love her.

“She only has a few properties to her name in my house.

“I brought in another woman when my wife packed out of my house due to a misunderstanding between us. I sent this other woman packing after I reconciled with my wife all because I love her, “the defendant said.

Giving his judgment after listening to both parties, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade stated that it was expected of the court to end a relationship filled with violence in other to save lives of both parties.

Ruling, Odunade dissolved their seven-year-old marriage and gave the plaintiff custody of their two children.

The defendant was asked to be responsible for their wellbeing, emphasising more on their education and health care.