WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND DONT GIVE MONEY BUT WANT THREE MEALS A DAY

A woman, Funmilayo Agbooloa has brought a divorce suit against her husband, Segun Agboola at Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State.

Funmilayo in her suit alleged that her husband was uncaring, troublesome and violent. She added that he sought every opportunity at beating her.

She thus prayed the court to dissolve their union and grant her custody of their children.

“My lord, my experience in marriage is a far cry from my initial perception of it.

“My husband lacks all I desire in a man. My eyes were blind to his shortcomings while we were dating because I was in love with him.

“My eyes became wide open after he descended on me with blows shortly after we got married.

“This became the pattern in our relationship, “Funmilayo said.

“He is not bothered about my welfare and that of our children. He hardly leaves feeding allowance, but believes he is entitled to three square meals.

“I feed him and our children from my meagre salary. I’m also responsible for their school fees. I took up the challenge because he’s indifferent to issues that have to do with their education. Rather than show appreciation for all these, all he does is to brutalise and dehumanise me.

“I’ve not met anyone as violent as my husband. He hits me with anything within his reach anytime we quarrel.

“He once fought me at my work place. He beat me blue-black and would have killed me if my colleagues and our security men had not come to my rescue.

“I’ve had enough of my husband’s brutality, I want a total break from our union and also plead that our children be put in my care, “she concluded.

Segun admitted to her wife’s plea of divorce stating that she was too difficult to please. She’s an Oliver Twist who is always asking for more.

“She lied that I beat her. I have never touched her in my whole life.

“I give her and our children adequate attention, but she’s never contented.

“I spent through the nose when her father died, but her complaint during and after his burial was that I didn’t do enough.

“I also contributed towards the completion of the building her mother is now living in, but her song still was that of ‘not enough.’

“I bought her a container which she is using for rental service and a grinding machine.

“To my surprise, she sold both without giving any reason for her action.

“My lord, I was responsible for my wife’s training in the nursing school, but she didn’t notify me when she graduated.

“I got home one day and met the house empty. She had packed all her belongings and that of our children and moved out.

“Since she refused to move back home after much pleading from me and my family members, I told her to rent a place near my house and offered to pay the rent so that I could have access to our children.

“She stated that she would pay the rent herself because she wanted to be free from me.

“I give her N2,000 as the children’s feeding allowance at weekends on a regular basis, “the defendant stated.

After listening to both parties, the court president, Chief Agbaje Olasunkanmi stated that more evidence was needed before giving judgment.

He thus adjourned the case till August 22 and ordered both to come to court with their parents.

They were also asked to bring their children along.