WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND SHIFT THE ROLE A BREADWINNER TO SHE

My lord, all I pray this court is to separate me from my husband. It is better to be a widow than have a husband who is not awake to his responsibilities. I’m tired of our relationship. I’m no longer interested in our marriage.”

These were the words of Temilade Olufowobi before Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State where she brought a divorce suit against her husband, Tunde Olufowobi.

Temilade had accused her husband of being irresponsible and neglecting her and their children.

She, therefore, appealed to the court to dissolve their marriage and order her husband to take up the responsibility of taking care of the children and meeting all their needs.

“My husband and I got married 14 years ago and our marriage is blessed with three children.

“He handed off his role as breadwinner from the first day of our marriage.

“I initially overlooked things because our marriage was new and I was deeply in love with him.

“I didn’t see my state as being physically challenged a barrier. I was jack of all trades.

“I sold different items and did some menial jobs to make ends meet. I fed and clothe my family from the proceeds from my business.

“My husband wasn’t just bothered. He showed no affection or concern towards me and the children, “Temilade told the court.

“When our children were old enough to attend school, I discussed the issue with him, but he gave no favourable response.

“I single-handedly enrolled the children in school and was responsible for the payment of their school fees and other necessary things.

“Seven years after we got married, my husband moved out of our rented apartment to an unknown place. Since he moved out, the children have not set eyes on him and he never bothered to ask for them despite the fact that he lives and runs his business here in Ibadan.

“Any time I paid his family members visit in Lagos early in our marriage, I always called their attention to my husband’s irresponsible act, but they always appealed to me to be patient.

“I informed them when he moved out, but no positive step was taken in reconciling us. It was only his sister who stood by me and kept encouraging me.

“She gave me N10, 000 late last year to take care of the children’s needs, “the plaintiff stated.

“I no longer love my husband. All I pray the court to do is to mandate him to take up the responsibility of caring for the children in all regards.”

The defendant failed to show up in court after being served court hearing thrice.

The court president, Chief Agbaje Olasunkanmi, after listening to the plaintiff stated that more evidence would be needed.

He thus adjourned the case till June 6 and ordered that the plaintiff to come to court with the children and her parents.