WTF AFRICA-WIFE SEH HUSBAND TEK DI POT A SOUP

Man Loses Marriage To Drunkeness, Stealing Of Wife’s Pot Of Soup

“My husband never ceases to embarrass me. He drinks, gets drunk and falls into the gutter. He doesn’t give me feeding allowance, but any time I prepare soup, he forces open the cupboard, brings out the pot of soup and eats everything in it, sweating and licking his fingers. My lord, I can’t stand him any longer please separate us.

“She asked me to move out of the bedroom and threw my belongings into the sitting room. I beat her when she tore my clothes but I later pet her. My lord, I’m not willing to divorce her, I plead that you help me beg her.”

Again, PDP calls on Lagos CP to get Segun Adewale arrested

ALSO READ
My husband can’t father a child ‘cos he has low sperm…

‘My wife always sneaked out of the house to sleep with her…

I caught my husband having sex with my best friend —Wife

These were some of the evidence a couple, Biola Wasiu and Isiaka Wasiu gave before Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State.

Biola had dragged her husband to court, accusing him of drunkenness, battery, abandonment and theft.

The plaintiff told the court she had had enough of her husband’s atrocities and therefore prayed that their wedlock be dissolved.

Biola further appealed to the court to grant her custody of their two children in order that she could give them adequate care.

Isiaka however did not admit to the claim.

Biola continued: “My lord, I’m tired of my husband because he’s always disgracing me. He’s always complaining of paucity of fund and therefore doesn’t give me and our children feeding allowance, but has money to drink. He drinks himself to stupor and staggers home almost naked. He has become a source of ridicule in our neighbourhood because he often falls into the gutter and the youth will gather round him, making jest of him. When this happens, I stay indoors for days because of shame.

“He’s in the habit of abandoning me and the children at home for months without making provision for our welfare. Since I can’t bear it that our children die of hunger, I gather together whatever money I have on me and prepare soup with which they eat whatever meal we prepare.

“My lord, anytime my husband is home, he forces open the cupboard, brings out the pot of soup and would consume everything in it, sweating and licking his fingers. And when I decided to keep the pot of soup with our landlady, he took to insulting and fighting her.

“He doesn’t know our children’s school and doesn’t know their classes. I’m the one paying our children’s school fees.

“I once got fed up with his indecent lifestyle and moved to my mum’s place but he came there and beat me in her presence.

“I moved back to his house and since then I’ve been the one paying the house rent because he has refused to pay.

“My lord, I want our relationship aborted today and our children handed over to me for proper care.”

In his testimony, Isiaka said: “My lord, all she said is lies. But despite tarnishing my image, I don’t agree to divorce because I still love her.

“How can I steal and eat her stew when I’m always away from home many of the times? My lord, she sometimes refused to cook and even when she does and I’m eating, she will insult me by removing the food from my presence and leave me to starve.

“She has gradually usurped my position in the home. She ordered me to move out of our bedroom to the sitting room and when I refused, she threw my belongings out of the bedroom into the sitting room. I’ve since then been sleeping in the sitting room.

“She’s troublesome and in the habit of spoiling my property. I have warned her against this but she turned deaf ears to me. Few weeks ago, she spoilt my fan. I was mad with her and she tore my clothes. I beat her but had to pet her when she started crying.

“I’m the one paying our children’s fee and I do this as and when due, but she kept changing their school because of her troublesome nature.

“Her sister advised her to sue for divorce and she dragged me before Lagelu Customary Court but the case was eventually struck out.

“She later moved to her mum’s house and after leaving there, she rented an apartment and asked that I move there with her but I refused. She moved back to my place few months later but she didn’t cease to spoil my belongings.

“My lord, it is true I drink but I pray that you help me appeal to her not to divorce me.

Ruling after he had listened to the couple, the court president, Chief Adeola Odunade, observed that their union had broken down irretrievably.

Ruling, he dissolved their wedlock and granted custody of their two children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was asked to pay N8, 000 monthly through the court as their children’s feeding allowance. He was also ordered to be responding for their education and health care among other things.