Former Jamaica Labour Party councillor Don Creary and his alleged accomplice, 22-year-old Shaneke Williams, have been remanded on rape charges at least until Monday.
At that time, Resident Magistrate Simone Wolfe Reece will make a decision on the bail application which was made this afternoon by Creary’s attorney, Tom Tavares-Finson.
The prosecution opposed bail.
Creary, 48, is charged with rape while Williams is charged with aiding and abetting and sexual touching.
The police reported that in 2013 Creary and Williams took the 15-year-old female complainant to an apartment in St. Mary where she was allegedly given alcoholic beverages and sexually assaulted.
They further said following the incident, the teen told her mother what happened and a report was made to the police.
Subsequent investigations led to the arrest of the two.
This morning, the court was told that the complainant first gave a statement to the police in March 2014.
It was further reported that the teen gave a second statement to the police on September 3 this year.
The Magistrate expressed concern about the long delay before the matter was brought before the court.
The Head of Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse has been summoned to appear before the court to explain the delay.
Dem fi learn seh money won’t fix every transgressions. If is not God who will defend di poor from dese diabolical agents of destruction. Is just sex to him, but is spiritual destruction to the victim, it is a life living in shame and fear. Unless you have ever been violated against your will you can never understand. Some ppl commit suicide because dem caan live wid demself afta those things. Him fi teck a long seat eena di stinking jail and shit eena scandal bag and rat nyam off him damn tainted hood that has been killing spirits from God knows how long.
Good fi him ole crobait. The best trial is him mind whey fi start run like trailer till it mad him. May God bring every wicked act you do to you remembrance
I am hoping that the prisoners behind bars are following this story, and await this idiots’ arrival.
VICTIM HOLD TIGHT! ME SURE BOUT MET and I riding this one to the end- as we did the last case ;
METTERS WE HAVE A NEXT CASE NEEDING FULL SUPPORT. RAPE JUST LIKE COLD BLOODED MURDER ARE UNNATURAL ACTS.
DRUM SOUND FI DEM CLAAT!
We nu like it…we LOVE it!!!! As a victim of rape…seeing this brings tears to my eyes. I hope justice prevails right thru. Enjoy jail u nasty f**kers!!!!
Every time I tried to comment on this story I just started crying. May God rain down His vengeance swiftly and without mercy on these two. I pray that regardless of his social status or the connections that he may have, that the justice system does not fail this child. I hope this case is one that changes the mindset of the ignorant and breaks down the wall of shame that victims and their families feel. I am so proud of this child. She has no idea how many other girls she will help to report any form of sexual violation without fear or shame. I want an example to be made out of them. It’s full time Jamaicans stop acting like Jamaica is uncivilized..Stop the victim shaming and blaming…How can someone set their mind to fault this baby? Good gosh man. Mothers watch your daughters an trust no one around her. IT IS USUALLY CLOSE FRIENDS OR FAMILY MEMBERS that will violate your child more so than a stranger.
Marie, don’t forget that the mothers & fathers in a we society often times assist in the violation. We more to school the children dem, starting at 3 years old to protect their bodies.
Hi PP I know that you and I have been down this road before but tbh I believe that those types of parents are the exception. It would be quite daunting for me to believe in any other scenario. WHich society are you referring to? (Jamican?, diaspora?). In North America parents who sexually violate their children or assist in the act, know that in THIS society there will be no tolerance and once the abuse has been disclosed they can expect CAS, teachers, the police, children’s lawyers, children agencies, therapists, and doctors to drop in pon di scene. The only thing left to do is to call in homeland security. The justice system is not perfect here but there is no two year investigation, and no cover ups.
You said “we” should school the kids as young as three?? That really means nothing for a child whose parents are violators. Even the most out spoken, intelligent and facetiest child will clam up and keep the secret for years upon years out of fear or even loyalty. You know that!!.
Jamaica need some intervention. Y it tek so long to look dem up. Dutty heads a govament!!!!! Unnu too slack
Can’t be blaming government when the people responsible for doing this investigation decided to drag their feet.Their management need to be fired.
He has forever been a pervert and his wife is well aware of his wrong doings from live in girlfriends to even going on dates with him and said girlfriends. This is nothing new if only his other victims would come forward.
MET , i have seen other people say the Wife has either been involved or aware of other instances too
so cant she also be charged with something ? in America i know there would be some full on investigation now, search him house, computer, interview neighbours and friends , encourage other victims to come forward
hey they should all come forward and bring a class action suit like the Cosby victims – wheres Jamaicas Gloria Allred ? nothing can erase the pain , but draining his pockets should help a bit . why should he and his family continue to live good
diff me u know sehhhhhhhhhhhh a jamaica dem ramp up and play wid people…a doe like america but mi respect dem system..notice no one is really coming out officially n a say a word
MOCA start arrest some a di so call bigman dem