100 LIVE FEATURING 90TIES DANCEHALL

THE music from the 1990s reigned supreme at Wednesday night’s staging of 100 Live at Hope Road in St Andrew.

With the likes of 1990s hitmakers Mr Lexx, Delly Ranx, Frisco Kid, and Louie Culture on the line-up, patrons were taken on a musical stroll down memory lane.

Tributes were paid to two of dancehall’s biggest acts the 90s — Beenie Man and Lady Saw.

Lisa Hyper paid tribute to Lady Saw and performed a medley of the former dancehall star-cum-gospel artiste’s hits, including Eh Em, Hoist it Up, and Stab Out The Meat.

“I was so excited when I was asked to pay tribute to Saw. It’s a big honour because she has always been a mentor of mine. I have learnt a lot from her over the years, and I have the utmost respect for her,” Lisa Hyper told the Jamaica Observer shortly after her performance.

Devin Di Dakta, who won the Magnum King of the Dancehall title in 2015, paid tribute to Beenie Man. Among his tributes were Romie, Slam, Blackboard and Let Him Go.

Mr Lexx was in fine form reeling off his hits, including Ring of Mi Cellie, Monkeys Come Out, Get Wid It, Full Hundred and Cook.

“I had fun tonight. It was a good little workout, but I enjoyed it,” said Mr Lexx.

Armed with Headache, Work Roun Dem, Red Bull and Guinness, Pon Di Corner, and the dance favourite Weh Di Time (originally recorded with Voice Mail), Delly Ranx delivered a workman-like performance.

His set featured cameos from Vershon and Bugle.

“It’s always a pleasure to be home. Mi glad fi deh ya, because the 90s was the greatest time inna the music. Back then, we had a lot more love. But nowadays, the youth dem too greedy,” said Delly Ranx, who now resides in Atlanta.

Frisco Kid took the proceedings to a higher level. His high-energy performance featured hits such as Round Ere, Nah Stop Say Suh, Gal Pon Di Side, Living in Style, Big Speech, Think Mi Nice, Little and Cute and Rubbers.

“Mi nah tell no lie, fi a long time, a the first mi come perform inna energy. The energy just full up the four corners of the venue and everybody just come out and enjoy themselves. It was a great vibe and the band was on point, so we delivered like we always do,” said Frisco Kid.

Alexisse Chin, marketing manager at 100, was pleased with the night’s proceedings.

“Tonight’s event was just a great night. This night is all about 90s dancehall and this is part of our culture. We’re giving the people what they want,” she said. “We wanted to give the patrons a different experience that they wouldn’t have expected.”

The series at 100 began late last year as a weekly one. It is now held on the last Wednesday of each month.

3 thoughts on “100 LIVE FEATURING 90TIES DANCEHALL