BRIGHTLIGHT COLLECTS SON’S REMAINS IN BAD CONDITION

Brite Lite funeral director shocked as he collects son’s body at airport

Director of Brite Lite Funeral Services and Supplies, Tommy Thompson (right) watches as the remains of his son, Andrew, are placed into a hearse.

IT’S a fate he said he would not wish on his worst enemy. Director and operator of Brite Lite Funeral Services and Supplies, Tommy Thompson, said he is hurt and broken about the manner in which his son’s body was sent to the island, so much so he will be taking legal action against the England-based funeral home responsible.

Thompson, whose 16-year-old funeral business is well known locally and internationally, said his grieving process has been made much worse due to the poor condition in which his 29-year-old son’s body arrived in the island yesterday afternoon at Norman Manley International Airport in Kingston.

“I’ve been in this business for a while, [and] our presentation is what made us what we are today. When I went to the airport and saw the condition my son was sent down in [it hurts]. He was not properly embalmed, it’s like when you go to a crime scene and just pick up a body; that was how I received my son, and that destroyed me,” Thompson told the Jamaica Observer in a phone interview last evening.

Thompson’s son, Andrew, was in his second year of pursuing a degree in engineering at a university in England, but was murdered two weeks ago, having been stabbed 15 times.

The funeral operator said the stabbing was “over a woman” and that the perpetrator later turned himself in to the police.

But the fact that his son’s murderer is no longer on the loose is little comfort to Thompson, who is now in the process of re-embalming his son’s body.

“Everybody was taken aback with what they saw. I couldn’t believe that here was my son; we gonna take legal action, whatever the cost, we are prepared to go all the way. Right now I have to be here fixing my son. I have no problem fixing him, but the family, my other kids, right now, they are all traumatised about the whole situation,” Thompson said.

25 thoughts on “BRIGHTLIGHT COLLECTS SON’S REMAINS IN BAD CONDITION

1. When your stabbed that many times,is it reasonable to see the body in the way he expects it to be? Mind you I never saw it for myself but he is grieving and maybe expected perfection. Anyhoot its super sad. RIP young man.

2. God is really in charge off this world. Look how many body you made disappear in ja for politicians and gangsters. What really goes around comes around .

1. Did they ever find that woman who owned the funeral parlor and went missing?

Sure her family won’t get to re-embalm her. The universe …

3. You know sometimes you read somethings and you feel sup’m and and anedeh time you read and no feel nut’n? Well mek me leave it desso fi a likkle while di kekkle warm.

4. Anon thread number 2 oh no, u say it like joke but it a true mi tell u karma damm real. U know plenty wicked people end up burying their kids young, especially a promising n bright one. I have noticed it with a few people that bury their kids. The middle a upper class wicked parents most times bury at least one of their kids n is normally the favourite dem bury fi real. Well tommy if u did mixx up karma is real sir. Wow.

5. This wicked mother f**ker look at God, eeeh u shall play in your shit. This is just the tip of anguish and pain you shall endure u Mr. man

6. you may find some plants that are a bit different. From their species but u can never live to see someone plant rice and reap corn

7. KARMA IS REAL! TOMMY YOU SHOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS WOULD REACH YOUR FAMILY. AND YOU NAH GO DEAD SOON ENUH TOMMY, YOU GONNA LIVE LONG AND GOD IS GOING TO MAKE YOU SUFFER. SOME OF YOU DO SO MUCH EVIL IN THIS WORLD AND DON’T THINK THAT RETRIBUTION WAS GONNA CATCH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. I DON’T EVEN THINK REPENTANCE CAN SAVE TOMMY. HIS SOUL IS LOST FOREVER.

8. Wow, omg i am amazed by the comments, however karma is very much real n karma has no menu karma just serve u wat u deserve. Sorry to say but if u plant 4 seeds of evil it bloom into many evil when ur time come fi reaping. Lawks, das why we fi try do go n live good, none a we nuh perfect but we nuh need to be evil n crude.

9. Tommy is a wicked and a mean a very wicked man. The amount of people him cremate n Mek dead. See it deh it reach him own. A wonder if the girl Kerry whe do makeup still deh with him?
    But we need info on how the son dead, because it seems like something missing from whe tommy a say.
    Anyways Tommy God go wid yuh.
    How me nuh hear nobody a talk a when dem a bury “bulbeye” the don whe did a run ova Braeton that a Diamond GoodLife father. Him dead pon her birthday

10. The son that got killed was a legit ‘good kid’. That’s how karma works. For it to hurt Tommy it had to come and get one of the good ones. Irrespective of how good or bad Tommy was, no one wants to see their loved one in that state. I believed was poorly handled as a funeral director Tommy must have seen bodies shot up, stab up, acid up etc. So he knows that the body should have been preserved a little better.

11. Mi mek the link n hear. Him get bullet like wow. It keep very hush bcuz mi know the whole team n mi nuh hear a word. All mi family weh grow mongst dem never know. Mi live a phase one long enuff fi see 3 gen a badness dead.

That man Inna so much crosses u nuh know weh it a come from. One point dem n Zed man a war, dem and Bridgeport man a war n a so Brando him son dead. Lick down Beenie n think him dead n Neva know it did ago reach him back.

See B the same week ova Sovereign portmore the Thursday before him dead. Reap wah u sow

12. His SON was not a LEGIT good guy. He used to beat his woman, rob people for them stuff and Tax people who keep party and selling drugs. Reading this about his dad lets me see that the apple never fell far from the tree.