A sixteen year old that found dead in the woods was scheduled to testify this spring in a rape trial, officials said.
Mujey Dumbuya, 16, was last seen alive Jan. 24 when she left her Grand Rapids home for the school bus stop, news station WOOD reported. Her body was discovered four days later by a couple on a walk in a wooded area in Kalamazoo, about 50 miles away.
Authorities said the East Kentwood High School student was a victim in a s*xual conduct case involving 42-year-old Quinn Anthony James. She was slated to testify against him in April at the trial, according to news station WWMT.
Dumbuya told police she was raped in a car in a school parking lot. The attacker, whom she later identified as James, allegedly told her, “There is something about you. I could stop, but I just can’t.”
James reportedly confessed to police about the s*xual encounter, but insisted it was consensual.
Authorities said James is a person of interest in Dumbuya’s murder, WWMT reported.
He is currently being held in Kent County jail on s*xual misconduct charges unrelated to Dumbuya’s case.
Okay dutty nastiness James u need fi hang by di balls….SIP baby girl
Jesus christ!!! R.i.p baby girl. You were so beautiful! But your death wont go invane
Mi feel like in most a these cases some protection should be given up until a final.