26 AND PREGNANT WITH NUMBER 4

A 26-year-old mother of three, who is expecting her fourth child, is threatening suicide if the Child Development Agency (CDA) removes her children from their one-bedroom dwelling in New Building, St Elizabeth.The woman, Teresa Kelly, said that the CDA visited her home on Thursday and informed her that the conditions there were not suitable for the children. This is months after reports were allegedly made to the agency by a United States-based social worker and educator Anna B.

Anna B (who asked that her surname not be used in this article) contacted the Jamaica Observer last Wednesday asking for help which, she said, was not forthcoming from residents of the community, the police in Santa Cruz, and the CDA.

“This correspondence is being sent as a desperate plea for assistance. There are three children currently living under the most horrendous conditions. I became aware of the circumstances during a visit home this past February. Prior to my trip, I had heard about the children but never met them and was horrified once I actually saw them.

“The mother of these children beats them, refuses them food, and denies them medical treatment. The father of the two oldest is transient and frequently away from the community.

“When I returned to the States in March of this year, I called the St Elizabeth CDA office and filed a complaint. I gave them the location and names of the children as well as a telephone number for someone in Jamaica that they could contact if they required additional information.

“It wasn’t until I was sent pictures of one of the children on Thursday, May 4, 2017, that I realised nothing had been done to address the needs of the children or to investigate the allegations. My family was informed that Alicia, the eldest, hadn’t been in school for some time, at which point they went to check on her well-being. It was at that time that they discovered the tremendous suffering this child has been enduring. She is gaunt and has a severe infection on her scalp. Flies are following her and the smell of rotting flesh is pervasive. Her mother claims that she sought medical attention, but apparently, whatever attempts she made were not sufficient because the condition is worsening,” Anna wrote in an e-mail to the Sunday Observer.

Kelly has, however, denied this and is insisting that Anna, who grew up in the community before emigrating to the US, is seeking to become a mother and wants her children.
“One white woman a foreign and her man want dem. But mi cyah gi weh mi pickney dem; I don’t know dem. When mi gi weh mi pickney dem how it go? Mi nuh know dem background. Up to my mother want mi pickney dem and mi naah give her. So a dem a send CDA fi come tek mi pickney dem,” an irate Kelly said.

She added that she is a hard-working mother who does “everything” to provide for her children, informing the Sunday Observer that she burns coal which she sells to people in the community to earn a living.

“A me take care of dem. The father wasn’t giving mi anything for them until mi tek him to court,” she said. Kelly mentioned that the three children are fathered by the same man. She also acknowledged that they are still a couple.

She stated that the third child was not planned for, suggesting that she was using birth control in the form of the injection but still got pregnant.

Alicia, who is six years old, suffers from a fungal infection that has affected her scalp and has resulted in her losing her hair. Equally, checks made by the Sunday Observer at her school revealed that she was frequently absent and was among students who learn at a slower pace than her other classmates.

The Sunday Observer reviewed documents which showed that the child was present approximately 72 times in the last school term and absent approximately 66 times. She also placed 31 out of 35 students in her class. This is contrary to what was told to the Sunday Observer by her mother who insisted that she was “doing well in school” and was “very bright”. The Sunday Observer was also told by teachers there, that the mother had not responded to messages sent requesting a meeting with her.

“Now, the CDA say dem can take dem away from mi, but mi naah give up mi pickney dem. If she (Alicia) was with me she wouldn’t catch the fungus. Mi tek care of dem; mi put dem on PATH (Programme of Advancement Through Health and Education) programme.

“Now di man come (Anna’s husband) seh him waah take dem send dem overseas. Mi cyah give him dem; mi don’t know him and she. Is one time mi meet her. Mi love mi children.

“Right now mi feel to say anyhow dem take dem mi woulda hurt miself. Mi cyah gi’ dem weh; God know. Mi try too hard wid dem. Anyhow dem take dem weh mi a go tek fi mi life. Mi naah hide mi conscience; by dem tek dem di next half hour mi kill miself,” she said, tears now streaming down her cheeks.

The Sunday Observer, was, however, reliably informed that Alicia had not been living with her mother for some time. The child was sent to live with her father because she allegedly used indecent language to her mother. It was during this time, it is being said, that Anna’s interest piqued with regards to the child’s well-being. The woman has paid over sums of money to the school towards lunch and transportation for the child. Money was also given by Anna to Kelly for the well-being of the other two children aged four and one year old. The four-year-old was in school when the Sunday Observer made checks.

“Wanting to take her children had absolutely nothing to do with why I filed a complaint,” Anna said in response to the mother’s claim. “The fungus in Alicia’s head is why I filed. …When you tell that child ‘I don’t want you’ and you run that child to her father, that is psychological abuse, knowing full well that he can’t care for her.”

Anna, noting that the children’s father had asked her to take them, said: “My three children are grown with my youngest child about to graduate college. I do not need to try to take away anybody’s children. This is more of my conscience can’t let me sit at home in America, comfortable, knowing that there are children in the very community that I come from in Jamaica suffering.

“I’m an intensive care coordinator; I do social work and educational resources here in America. I don’t want any extra headache but there is no way my conscience could allow me to let those children suffer,” she said, adding that the parents told two sets of witnesses on separate occasions that they could not manage the children.

“All the while there’s another one we haven’t talked about — the baby,” Anna continued. “She’s running around the farm naked all day with a bunch of grown men on the premises. We are talking about a baby with her private parts exposed to men. That’s not a healthy environment for that little girl. …I know that on the day of judgement I will be asked about it because I witnessed it and when you witness it you become responsible for it.”

Anna also chided “educators” whom she said were “remiss” in their duties to report all instances of suspected abuse.

“Had they done their jobs there would be no need for my intervention,” she said.

The Sunday Observer visited the CDA office in Santa Cruz but was told that the agency could not verify if a report about the children was made.

“You will have to contact the PR (public relations) [department] in Kingston,” a woman at the office said.

Public Relations Manager at the agency Rochelle Dixon said the matter was being looked into to ascertain whether or not a report was in fact made about the children to the CDA. She said that a statement would follow.

In the meantime, Kelly said that Food For the Poor (FFP) has agreed to provide a house for her and her children, providing she has land. There is currently no bathroom at the house, forcing them to relieve themselves outside. The woman said so far she has not been able to acquire any land and is seeking the public’s assistance.

Project Development Officer at FFP Ann-Marie Virgo, when contacted on Friday, said she would check to see if an agreement was in fact made with Kelly and respond.

17 thoughts on “26 AND PREGNANT WITH NUMBER 4

1. Poverty or pregnancy is not a crime.
    Her age is not so shocking for the number of children she has.
    Instead of taking away her children, she should be offered parenting classes, social services and most importantly, job training and education.

I do not trust foreigners ‘ interest when it comes to taking people PICKNEY overseas.
    They always have a motive.

Free condoms should also be offered to her . From they not in physical danger, they will not be the forts of last Caribbean children to grow up in poverty.-

2. The mattress looks old but to be honest the place don’t look dirty. Small yes but not dirty. She does need help though. The mother seems to be suffering from mental illness. Isn’t there another way to help her. I would be scared for my children to.be sent.to a foreign country that I had.no.prospects or means of visiting to people I.don’t know too.

3. What wicked white woman. She come jamaica come married a man n now want teef children in the community… Pity she no know a papers alone di man want jus ago breed har n run rite back to a yawd wiman once him get green card. NOW The children need to be cared for but this woman from America “Anna B.” did not report this for good reason, she sees a woman that it is easy to take the child.. If she was trying to assist she wouldn’t report the mother. She would actually help.HOW U WANT HELP N NO TEK DI PIKNEE GO DOCTOE 4 FUNGUS that would b the 1st step. Madda is not making them suffer on purpose she has no money r proper home… How about try find her a work or another housing r WHY NOT GO AFTER DI PUPPA DI WAY DEM DUNG INNA DI MUMMA… CDA have no weh fu put dem? Anna Bvthe time u take fly to Jamaica n work upbu self u could send a $50 a month n help…

1. Dumb f*ck. STFU. Why don’t you send $50 a month to help. Did you even read and comprehend the article? I’m willing to wager that you, yourself, have multiple kids (at least 5) for multiple men. The mother is irresponsible and the children should be taken away. The mother should be sterile while they are at it!

4. HAPPY MOTHERS DAY PINKWALL LADIES .BLESS UP ALL MATERNAL FIGURES.

Anna b mi a go give yuh a one knock for that insensitive comment about not wanting any more headaches in reference to tekking up the children!

this is a sticky situation though…the authorities need to intervene asap.

5. Let’s be real the kids need to be taken away. The child has a fungus in her hair to the point she has flies following her around. That mean the infection is so severe it can get into her blood stream and kill her. You have another baby running around naked with grown men around, with so many kids getting abused in this day and age. The. Kids not going to school they, not getting proper nutrition and she has stated she can’t afford to take care of them but yet she is pregnant again. The lady was right to report her, just because you birth a kid doesn’t make you a parent. She is making no efforts to better her kids situation. Also the lady gave her money to take the oldest kid to the doctor and she didn’t. So clearly she don’t care.

6. The mother need a mental health assessment. It appears that the parenting capacity that she lacks is a consequence of poor mental health. Though it’s may be unfortunate, many of our young women have multiple children. However, their condition is nit on this level.

The root of the problem needs to be addressed or she’ll continue to have children under these dire circumstances.

7. Omg didn’t you folks read the article, as a mother and a individual who is active in charity work would know that those kids are not properly taken care of and has been neglected. The house is not so much a factor, but definitely at the age of 26 with 4 kids tells there’s no way for her to financially or emotionally take care of all those kids. Merely due to the circumstances that she started having kids at a young age and not able to attain a skill to be a decent provider and with lack of family support.

That little girl is sick and that’s not healthy for her, she could be teased and in the long term cause a bigger effect, the other little girl is walking around naked with grown men around (come on we all know how perverted this men can be).

If I witness their situation, I couldn’t go on with my life normally without helping them. This lady is doing the right thing.

8. Why should anyone be responsible for this carelessness I only consider her mother tru she f*8k breed carry them 9months she not fit to raise those kids

9. These ladies need to stop make these men treat them like a discharge pot. I dont understand with this breeding thing. Especially by multiple men without a ring.

10. IF DI WOMAN CARE B4 SHE REPORT SHE CARRY DI GIRL GO DR. this situation is not uncommon in di ghetto or for the really poor in Jamaica & many other nation… U see ppl a report the african kids dem? Or do u see the missionary workers go n help plus ask ppl to give $1 a day on TV.. I am asking that we look at it not as us being in America but just open mind.. The children need care but her approach no right… This iscwhat happen to buff madda our there man dem leff dem fi suffa how bout we also start put de man dem on child support the lady a struggle help her don’t condemn her she can’t do betta. She Neva kill dem r leff dem a hospital.. Good ting about being in paper she will no get much help I am sure.

11. I could care less about this lady’s skin colour. She could be white, black or purple. I seriously doubt that this lady is even white but whatever it doesnt even matter! She did the right thing and I too would do exactly what she did minus contacting a newspaper. Yowwwwwwww Ive never heard of anyone in Jamaica having hair fungus! Even the poorest of the poor can get shampoo. Her home is a reflection of the madness that’s going on inside of her head. A mother she is NOT in any capacity! And the woman is correct other people’s children can be a headache as well as being a social worker. Mayyyneee who would honestly want to tek ar pickney from ar wid head full up of fungus???? NOT ME! Bout kill self! Kill yuh damn self then! The lady has a legal duty to report and thank God for her intervention. Black ppl just love the hush hush bs then when pickney end up raped, missing or dead we wonder why!

12. Comprehension is a hellva thing. The woman, wedda black, white or Chinese has every right to call the police or whatever. Say its true the ‘white’ woman want to take away the children, ask yourselves 1. Did the woman cause the fungus to be in the older girl’s head? 2. Did the woman kept the children out of school? 3. The woman said the child is walking with her private exposed. Isnt the child’s private exposed in the picture. If this is the state that the children are in and the mother is being interviewed, you can bet that they are the same way or even worse on a normal day to day basis. A dutty nasty people like unno turn a blind eye to atrocities against out children. How many times do you want the parents to fail the children? How many times should the school fail the child? How many times should the other members of the community fail the children. We can never tell what any of these children can turn out to be.

13. The person who recommended the mental health evaluation makes a good point. This is more than poverty, this is a situation where there is no order in the life. The mother lacks life skills, basic knowledge of hygiene and how to care for a family. She is a child playing grown up. If her own mother offered to take the children then that speak volumes. Sorry to say, but if she did kill herself it probably would be the best thing to happen for those children. So between she and the children’s father not even a lot of land can find? Seems like nobody nuh want dem as neighbours cause country ppl always hab dem family land, summen up with that part.

14. There seems to be this stigma placed upon the poor that they should not have children or how many children they should have. Individuals living in poverty should not be crusified for having children. What we fail to do as a society is to hold governing bodies for the roles that they play in the issues of poverty instead we blame those living in poverty solely. This young lady needs help taking away her children permanently is not the answer. There needs to be a system put in place to offer support for individuals like this young lady. An example being taking away her children temporarily while assisting her to become self sufficient so she is able to regain custody of her children. What this lady is requesting is a band-aid solution to the many problems in Jamaica taking away children from families with no chance of brining the family together. Even if this young lady was to receive help it would still be difficult for her to care for her children as jobs are very difficult to come by in many areas of Jamaica due to several barriers. This is a systemic issue blaming and shaming people for having children will not fix it. Holding the government accountable will. Not because this young lady cannot sufficiently provide for her children it does not mean that she does not love her children. There are too many families in Jamaica living in conditions like these or worse. The lady complaining needs to do her research and address the systemic issues that contribute to this issue because there are many. She needs to write to the UN and take it further so that all the other families living in similar situations receive help instead of just focusing on one family. The problem with foreigners is that that come to Jamaica and judge without looking at the bigger picture. They need to realize that Jamaica is a third world country despite it being a very beautiful island. Beyond the pictures and tourism advertisements there is a lot of issues. Jamaica is not like many foreign countries with social service infrastructures that help to poor and the few that are in place do not have the required amount of funding necessary to handle the amount of individuals lives gn in poverty.