35 YO VENDOR KILLED IN REMA

girl-cry-Optimized

Scores of women and children yesterday staged a protest in sections of Rema in Kingston where gunmen shot and killed a 35-year-old vendor over the weekend as she stood on a sidewalk.

Police reports are that about 1:30pm Latoya Hunter, a mother of one, was preparing her road side stall when armed thugs crept up in the area and opened fire.

“The man them come in the area and for no reason just opened fire, the woman was hit several time,” said one resident in the area.

Yesterday, sister of the slain woman Shawakay Hunter said she was home when she received the call that her sibling was gunned down.

“I was in my house when I got the call and that was when mi rush out to come see my sister lay down on the ground,’ said the distraught Hunter. “My sister nuh trouble people; she was a hard working mother who believed in hard work.”

The attack yesterday triggered shock and frustration among scores of residents in the community who took to the streets claiming enough was enough.

“We fed up and tired of the attacks taking place in the area and we want this to end, we want the police to step up their search for criminals who a mash up the community,” said one female resident.

Kingston Western police say they have since launched a probe into the matter.

Police also said residents should use the incident as a reminder of how cruel criminals can be.

“We are calling on the residents to tell what they know about the criminals and not wait until it’s too late,” one officer warned.

8 thoughts on “35 YO VENDOR KILLED IN REMA

1. Jamaican Police are so f**king disgusting..Blame it on the community if you was doing your job people wouldnt be afraid to talk what they know jackass

1. You are the typical ghetto hoodrat. Instead of assigning blame to the thugs who killed his woman, you chose to direct your venomous comments at the police. Police cannot solve most murders without eyewitnesses and even when you have such witnesses, they show up in court and change their statements at the last minute, setting the criminal walk free.

1. Same way so! It is PARAMOUNT for witnesses to come forward.

I’m going to say blessings to those demonstrators…change begins increments.

2. What does the police have to do with this @whatever? If them stop hug up criminals and give them up them they wouldn’t have gotten the chance to kill that woman. Full time now these communities stop protecting these vermin because they will turn their guns on both women and children!

3. The police affi tek the blame for some of these crimes, reason being, they know a lot of the criminals in the hardened communities and befriend them. U notice say anytime a criminal commit a serious crime that shakes the nation, the police solve it in no time. When gang a fight gang and the police know each set a criminal, they leave them be, and let them battle in the streets. Only when dem go as far as killing a child or a woman, or multiple people, the police dem find dem and apprehend dem. The police should be proactive. If a mad man, dog, gunman, and even rat get murdered, they should handle it with the same sense of urgency as they do when a child, woman or police is killed. Treat every case the same!! Don’t give some priority and den lay back and lef some unsolved. That is the only way to solving this crime issue.

4. my heart ache for the family and my condolences to them. now is the time for the entire jamaica communities across the island to form citizens associations to know everyone in each community and yes have regular meetings with the police station closest in the area and show the crimminal that no one will not hide them again. same process should use to bring children from six to twelve years old and from twelve to nineteen together in associations and programs . again my condolences to the entire community and let us all help provides a good life for her child. .i am tony from canada.