75 YO WOMAN BRUTALLY RAPED IN ORANGE HILL

A 75-year-old woman, who was attacked and raped at her home in Orange Hill in this parish on Friday night, remained hospitalised yesterday, with doctors saying that her wounds will take some time to heal.

The senior citizen, who was home alone at the time of the horrific incident, is said to be in both physical and emotional pain. An 18-year-old man has since been heldin connection with the incident and is set to face an identification parade.

“She is …suffering physical pain and mental trauma,” Delroy Redway, councillor for the Brown’s Town Division, told the

Jamaica Observer on Tuesday.

Wall-of-Shame

The councillor, who described the attack as “brutal”, is among scores of people who have openly condemned the incident, which he said had not only caused shock but had left the residents of Orange Hill angry and disappointed.
“I am deeply moved by it… my heartfelt sympathies to her, to the family. She was brutalised… an animal type of arrangement,” an upset Redway told the Observer during a telephone interview.

It is alleged that a group of youngsters broke into the woman’s house, which she shared with her daughter. It is theorised that robbery may have been the initial motive, but that the culprits took advantage of the fact that the woman was home alone.

Yesterday, Redway called on residents to tell the police all they know to speed up the investigation into the matter.

5 thoughts on “75 YO WOMAN BRUTALLY RAPED IN ORANGE HILL

1. Now oonu see how da young yute ya (18 yrs old) go put a expiration date pon him owna life? Chances are in Jamaica 2016, whenever dem ketch him, the end result fe him will not be a pretty sight fe look at. Afterall, look wey him go gwaan wid – wid someone who could have been his Great Grandma? Wishing this senior citizen well in her mental and physical recovery. Sorry about what happened to you, mi Madda.

2. It will take great courage fi face this age and the things we will live fi see and hear in these times. A 75yr old woman gang raped??? May God give us the strength to bear the evil day.

3. This brought tears to my eyes…OF FATHER….what has become? I am praying that you send your loving angles to cover this lady, I will continue to pray for her to regain strength, peace and hope