YOUR honeymoon is supposed to be one of the best times of your life, after all you’ve publicly expressed your unending love to your partner, vowed to spend eternity with them, and now it’s time to start life together with a bang.
But many times after the fanfare the expected sparks don’t go off and people are left moping rather than enjoying their honeymoon experience.
New husband Sheldon Martin said the worst experience he could think of happened on his honeymoon. His new bride slipped and burst her head in the bathroom, leaving them to drive from their Montego Bay getaway spot to the hospital. For the rest of the week, he was left tending to her injury.
Others share their stories below.
Christoph Smith, married nine years:
My wife went all out to ensure she had the best day of her life, and she did. When we were on our way to Portland where we honeymooned, she said she felt slightly weak and nauseous, so I told her to rest in the back seat and drove fast so she could finish resting properly. When we got there all was well, until she went to freshen up so we could consummate the marriage. She came back to tell me that her Aunt Flo had arrived. I didn’t believe her at first, but for five out of the seven days of our honeymoon we were living like brother and sister at the cottage we were staying in.
Carolyn Brown, married 11 years:
Whenever people ask I always laugh. My husband ate up a storm at our reception, including seafood, which prior to that day he had never had an allergic reaction to. By the time we left the hotel to go to our room his lips were swollen and he told me he wanted to throw up. He insisted we could still do the horizontal mambo and ended up vomiting on me.
Nathan Daniels, married two years:
My wife doesn’t like when I speak about it, but the fact is it happened. After our wedding, I spoke to my grandmother who was sick and hospitalised and told her how the ceremony went and promised that we would visit the next morning before the honeymoon started. On our way to the hospital we heard she passed on and her last words were to bless the union between my wife and I. I was hurting so much, I spent my honeymoon sobbing and watching movies with my wife.
Christine Messam, separated:
The whole experience was horrendous. Must have been a sign. The food was undercooked. When I caught water in a glass in the room the water was reddish, which indicates it wasn’t clean. The pool wasn’t clean and after two days I broke out in hives.
The last one had me laffing to tears..dah man superstitious bad, a did only pan di wedding day honey moon him see all a dem ting deh?..but hey maybe him right…dwl