Irate residents, who are pointing fingers at the police for the shooting death of a father and son, staged a fiery demonstration in front
of the Savanna-la-Mar Public General Hospital on Friday night.
The police are, however, maintaining their innocence in the killing of Ricardo Sinclair and his son, Ajani, both of Savanna-la-Mar, Westmoreland addresses.
According to reports, about 7:30 on Friday night, the police were at the hospital and responded when they heard gunshots in the vicinity of the facility and found the father and son suffering from gunshot injuries.
Irate residents pinned the blame on the police for shooting and killing the two men, even as the law enforcers explained that they were only endeavouring to assist them.
The residents also firebombed a police service vehicle and used debris to block the entrance to the hospital and set fire on a section of the hospital.
The Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM) has since commenced their probe.
In response the Western Regional Health Authority (WRHA) has issued a statement advising that as a result of the current state of unrest at the hospital, services have been curtailed temporarily.
A release from the chairman of the WRHA board of directors, Calvin G Brown, noted that the prevailing issue had affected staff getting to work, and with the increased workload brought on by the state of unrest, only emergencies are being dealt with.
Brown further noted: “Normal services will be restored as soon as the police advise that the situation has been brought under control, and hospital staff are able to attend to their regular duties.”
Warning to the Police. DO NOT respond “too quickly” to any scene of a shooting or you will be blamed for the shooting. The stupidity of these people to set the Ambulance, Police service vehicle and parts of the hospital ablaze because they think the police shoot the victims (no proof).
Im trying to find the words to express my feelings about this situation. The mentality of the people of Jamaica is the real story of underdevelopment. Anger management is a problem that needs to be addressed. I’m not oblivious to the fact that most police shootings happen under questionable circumstances and that life is precious but law and order must prevail. Destruction of the country’s infrastructure only regards progress and growth. Destroying a place where people go to get lifesaving treatment cannot be excused. Firebombing an emergency vehicle that belonged to a fleet already depleted affect the community as a whole.
A how dem ppl yah suh dawk? U want to tell mi seh dem bun up ambulance and portion of di hospital. All who were involved in this unrest should be found and brought to justice. How dare they destroy other ppl’s access to lifesaving care because they want to make a statement. How does a hospital and ambulance factor into their grouse, dirty wicked hearts to interrupt the lives of others over something they have no solid proof of. How many young children have been murdered in Sav, how many other killings happening down there, is the police involved in all of them? The ppl who destroyed the hospital and ambulance are likely the very ones who know about the shooting and went on this action to create a diversion from themselves and others they protecting. Westmoreland was always a fckd up parish but this teck di rass cake.
Good morning met I was reading these comment and honestly I wouldn’t really Isay these people are dawk because there is a lot of thing going on in. Jamaica where the police have a lot to do with it these police are very licky licky u can give them a bill to get any job done.A lot of these police are working with the bad man them them a the head bottle washer in the scamming the bitch them are hungry u can catch them for a plate of food I am sorry the people mess with the healthcare department they should go and deal with the police station nobody know what happen to the father and son people might have see who kill them but u know met nobody is going to say anything because they are afraid but u hide from Man U can’t hide from God I hate Jamaican police they indulge into too many wrong