CLAN CLARTY TO GET FURNITURE BY MONDAY

12004804_10153359728073005_1642922448087781612_n-Optimized-1

EDUCATION Minister Ronald Thwaites says adequate furniture will be in place at Clan Carthy High School in Kingston next Monday to facilitate the full attendance of students.

The education minister’s announcement follows a meeting yesterday with representatives of the school’s board and management.

Thwaites said 120 desks and chairs were on order and would be delivered on the weekend, which will complete the initial shortfall of 300 pieces of furniture, 100 of which were renovated by the school and the remainder provided by the Ministry of Education.

Minister Thwaites told the school leaders that their decision to keep approximately 200 students away from school for a day, in order to cope with the lack of furniture, should have been referred to the Ministry of Education for prior consideration.

Noting that students’ attendance was paramount, Minister Thwaites instructed the school leaders to ensure that make-up classes were provided for the students who were absent.

In addition, Thwaites expressed concern at the high rate of damage to furniture and asked the school leaders to impress upon students at Clan Carthy High to take better care of school property. He also instructed the regional director to conduct a full inventory of the furniture at the school vis-à-vis the size of the student enrolment.

0 thoughts on “CLAN CLARTY TO GET FURNITURE BY MONDAY

1. The schools need better principals I swear..From what I hear, Thwaites is doing a good job, him staff get big money dem seh but at least he is implementing stuff..The principal did not submit the correct data to the ministry and also submitted it late…The chairs they are using in the schools are also no good..Jamaica needs a overhaul

2. If they are our future, then our future is very bleak. These desks and chairs are being damage by a set of vipers who have no interest in education. Most of these children who attend these upgraded high school can barely read and write. They leave after 5-years just as they enter. Isn’t this the same High School school where over 120 girls (out of a total of 790) are either mothers and/or are actually pregnant?

1. So why couldnt the ministry have given them these desks long time? why only after it make news they suddenly find desks and chairs? Met those parents would laugh at you and transfer the kid to a different school to avoid paying for anything they damaged

2. Anonymous 12:10, I don’t where you got your statistic from but come again. I attended this school 5 years ago and I’m not a mother but I’m about to graduate from a Russell group university google it, to be honest quiet a few of the girls that I went school with have had children but it years after we all graduated (and it’s not a large amount). I was reading report in the UK that stated that young women who were not in education, training or working were more likely to get pregnant and become mothers it is same in Jamaica among the poor. What’s Jamaica’s unemployment rate?, How much does it cost to pursue education after high school? How many college graduates are able to find jobs after they leave college in Jamaica? . The problem you speak about students not being able to read and writing a nation wide issues in Jamaica. And having children doesn’t solve anything but until certain can improve maybe that’s when we will see some change.