PRYCE A FISH RESIGN

Embattled Deputy General Secretary of the ruling People’s National Party (PNP) Raymond Pryce has resigned from that position with immediate effect.

Pryce, in a letter to PNP President and Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller earlier Wednesday, said that recent events had forced him to take the decision.

“Situations within the political organisation of the People’s National Party in North Eastern St Elizabeth have – despite my best efforts to prevent same – continued to play out in a very public manner,” Pryce wrote to Simpson Miller. “All of us as comrades support the right of our membership to express opinions freely and to do so respectfully and within the established channels.

“The current situation has caused significant strain and concern to me as Member of Parliament and as an officer of the party who holds the post of Deputy General Secretary/Communication.

lol-Optimized-1
“Quite regrettably the matters have detained much of the attention of the leadership of the Party and have impacted on our collective ability to proceed on other crucial issues. This is untenable.
“As a result and of a course of principle and respect to you personally and as party President and officers who had invited me to serve as Deputy General Secretary in the first place I tender my resignation from that post and from the Officer Corps.”

Pryce said that he remained convinced that the PNP still represents what he considers “the best opportunities for Jamaica’s continued development,” and vowed to retain his membership in the Party, while working to contribute to the organisation’s growth and the advancement of the Jamaican people.

The outgoing MP also described his four years as a parliamentarian as “an honour to serve the Party at this level”, and to be among its ranks as the parliamentary representative from North Eastern St Elizabeth.

Pryce has been locked in a long battle for survival as MP. An expected vote to decide who should represent the seat was doused when he opted out of a contest with his challenger and eventual winner, St Elizabeth businessman Evon Redman.

But since Redman’s ascension to the position of candidate in the next general election expected in the first quarter of this year, supporters of Pryce have maintained pressure on the party hierarchy to sack Redman and keep the incumbent.

3 thoughts on “PRYCE A FISH RESIGN

1. Zaccheus COME DOWN!!!! Go forth n sin no more!! Wha u say Lalibela u nuh see babylon system a go dung likkle by likkle??Although dem have a steady readily supply of fishery ready fi tek Doctor Fish place! Red snapper oo n whole heap a Parrot fish Inna da party deh.Bobby a di chairman n some men a him chair!!

2. Tricks and trade….unno no mek dem fool unno cause Pryce ago get a position that even Portia would envy. They told him to bring it down a notch because “it is an election year” and dem can’t tek the scandal and the division. Unno memba what happen to Kern Spencer say he was rewarded instead of punished? Matches box in business oiii

3. Lol, I am glad some people really understand what is happening here, mi nah seh nothing, mi just a smile, nod and guh through, I know exactly what them doing.@Yardie and @ 2 Sugar, uno lick the nail on the head, I can’t even emphasize on how correct you both are. :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer :hammer