COMMISSIONER SHUDDA RESIGN LONG TIME

Commish retiring, says he’s happy he’s not leaving under a cloud
‘Integrity intact’

Dr Carl williams delivering his acceptance speech after taking the oath of office making him Jamaica’s 28th police commissioner on September 15, 2014. (Observer file photo)

Police Commissioner Dr Carl Williams yesterday confirmed that he was retiring as the country’s top cop and expressed satisfaction that he was leaving the stressful, high-profile post without damage to his integrity.

“I came here in this force 33 years ago… I never had to compromise myself in the course of my duties, and I’m happy for that,” Commissioner Williams told the Jamaica Observer.

“There were times when it was very difficult, but I’m happy that I’m leaving with my integrity intact. I have tried my best to be professional and to professionalise the force, and I have actually seen some of the efforts paying off. Over time I’m sure we will make even greater improvement. But at the end of the day, a man has to exit the stage, and I’m happy that I’m not leaving under a cloud,” he added.

Dr Williams spoke to the Observer after the Ministry of National Security stated in a news release first that he had resigned, then said he had indicated his intention to retire, adding that it was effective January 6, 2017.

Sponsored Links
24 Photos of Donald Trump That Will Change Your Mind
Detonate
The Holiday Joy & Gratitude Challenge
SELF

“Numerous efforts were made by members of the [political] Administration, the Police Service Commission, and the minister of national security to have the commissioner extend his service; however, these efforts did not succeed,” the ministry said in its news release.

Dr Williams confirmed that he had been having discussions with the ministry after advising the national security minister, on October 18, of his intention to retire effective January 6, 2017.

Subsequently, he said, he wrote a letter in the first week of November indicating his decision, but was in dialogue with the Police Service Commission (PSC) regarding an extension of his service.

“They asked me, and I told them that I would be prepared to stay a bit longer,” Dr Williams said. “I would go into the [new] year, up to April if necessary, until we find a suitable replacement. That was the last conversation I had with them… up to yesterday (Wednesday) we still had not settled on the [new] date.”

However, someone leaked his letter, a move that he said effectively ended his and the PSC’s intention to settle the issue of succession and prevent any possibility of a destabilising effect on the police force.

“But with the letter leaked, everything that we were trying to prevent from before was out there,” he said. “So now I will just go on the sixth as was originally indicated.”

Dr Williams also moved to end early speculation that he was pushed, saying “I was not forced out. I am leaving on my own volition… I have 33 years’ service and I am 52. I am permitted to retire.”

Dr Williams became Jamaica’s 28th police commissioner on September 15, 2014, having been chosen from a field of six other shortlisted aspirants.

During his years of service, he moved fairly quickly through the ranks, with notable achievements being divisional commander for the Kingston Central Division, commanding officer for the Transnational Crime and Narcotics Division, and commanding officer for Police Area 5, which includes the St Andrew North, St Catherine North and South, and St Thomas divisions. It was while serving as commander of the Narcotics Division that Dr Williams built a favourable reputation for being a leader, one who could be trusted, and one which caught the attention of the country’s overseas crime-fighting partners.

He was responsible for leading the initiative which led to the establishment of a multi-sector task force targeting lottery scamming in Jamaica. As a deputy commissioner of police, he was head of the crime portfolio and was the founding director of the Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency.

He earned his doctorate in criminal justice at Sam Houston University in the United States.

Yesterday, the national security ministry said it respected Dr Williams’ decision “fully well knowing he has one of the most difficult and stressful jobs”.

Describing him as “one of the finest public servants in Jamaica”, the ministry expressed “thanks and appreciation to Dr Williams and his family as he embarks on his new career path”.

The ministry also sought to assure the public that there are qualified and competent individuals in the police high command from among whom the PSC will firstly choose an appropriate person to act for 90 days.

“The Ministry of National Security will be engaging the Police Service Commission to re-examine the terms of engagement for commissioner of police as the search begins for a suitable replacement within 90 days,” the ministry said.

“The police high command is assuring the public that now, more than ever, and in tribute to Dr Carl Williams, the brave men and women of the Jamaica Constabulary Force will redouble their efforts to ensure the safety of civilians, and peaceful enjoyment of the season,” the ministry added.

ADVERTISEMENT

9 thoughts on “COMMISSIONER SHUDDA RESIGN LONG TIME

1. Right now Jamaica need a retired FBI for Commissioner, eliminate all scammer, gang member, corrupt politician and cops and anyone who support the madness.

2. Walk good, sir. These criminals wear down all god and the devil. And we won’t mention tje ungrateful, uncivilized citizens that adamantly refuse to participate in social order settings….plus yu no dog-heart.

3. Good riddance……who nuh ready fi get drastic inna dis job nuh badda apply. Who nuh ready fi arrest police AND politicians nuh badda apply. Who fraid a INDECOM and JFJ nuh badda apply. I think that’s why someone is suggesting a person from outside of the JCF.

4. A pu$$y DAT, lang time him fi leff, how yuh dey a narcotics so long and nuh collect some big food. Fi him logic nuh fit in a modern day Jamaica. How the rank and file a go trust yuh if Yuh nuh corrupt.
    Corruption dey everywhere Clinton, Trump Germany England. every ra$$ wey.
    And him a form fool bout him nah tek bribe, how priest fi lead thieves, no sah cyan bloodcloot work

5. hellooo mettie metters HAPPY HOLIDAYS, JUS REACHED BACK A Toronto from N.Y. from cold to cold, naw do dat r… again, I know we would pay for this dearly wait… mi soon run outa dis, METTERS Renato say the commish A cowardice an him more fit fi be a clergyman ooooo, lol a double six ting him deh pon, All we hear a DR Carl WILLIAMS a pose up double six ting him deh pon wid him Spanish town handcuff face