WTF AFRICA-HUSBAND SEH WIFE MENTALLY ILL

My wife is mentally deranged, please separate us, man prays court

Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, has dissolved the wedlock between a couple, Sunday Abiodun and his wife, Sarah Abiodun.

Sunday had approached the court stating that he was no longer interested in his marriage to his wife who is mentally deranged and being kept away from him by his mother in-law.

He also prayed the court to grant him custody of their first and second children.

The defendant was represented by her mother who came to court with their three children.

Ruling after listening to the plaintiff, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunola dissolved their marriage and granted custody of the first and second children to the plaintiff. The third child was put in the defendant’s care.

“My lord, my life has not been the same since 2014 when my wife was struck with a strange illness which left her mentally derange. Watching her lose control of her mind has brought me pain and agony while my mother in-law’s attitude towards me has left me a frustrated man,” Sunday stated.

“My wife took ill suddenly and before I knew it she has lost her senses. I informed her mother of the incident and she rushed to our house, wailing.

“Together, we started taking her from one hospital to another. The University College Hospital (UCH) was our first port of call. She was on admission for more than a month but was discharged when the doctors there went on strike.

“Seeing that her health had not yet improved, we took her to some other hospitals but we got no positive result.

“My lord, I became physically and financially drained while attending to my wife. I spent all my savings trying to cure her mental illness and even went a borrowing but all was to no avail.

ALSO READ: Oyo civil servants will get salary by 25th every month – Ayandele says

“To my surprise, my mother in-law came to our house one day while my wife was being attended to in a prayer house and packed her belongings. She went away with them without giving an explanation for her action.

“She also took her daughter away from the prayer house to a place not known to me. Since then, I have not set my eyes on my wife and our three children who have been in my mother’s in-law custody since their mother was struck with this strange sickness, the plaintiff stated.

“My lord, my wife’s sickness has put my life on hold. I’m frustrated. I’m seeking divorce in order to put my life together again.

“I also pray to have custody of our first and second children who are presently in my mother’s in-law care so as to give them the necessary attention.