YES DI DANGEROUS DOG DEM FI GET BAN

J’cans give mixed views on possibility of dangerous dogs ban

AUDLEY Shaw’s disclosure that the Government is not ruling out the possibility of banning the importation of “dangerous dogs” has ignited national debate.

Shaw, the minister with portfolio responsibility for agriculture, told the Jamaica Observer on Monday that he ordered a review of the century-old Dog Liability and Cruelty to Animals acts to be fast-tracked after the Observer reported that 66-year-old Whittington Cole became the latest victim of a dog attack which resulted in his death.

Cole was taking an early morning walk in his Hampton Green community on July 21 when he was attacked by dogs believed to be pit bulls and rottweilers.

Shaw, who extended condolences to Cole’s family, said that the senior citizen’s death must not go in vain. He also said that the breeding and ownership of dangerous dogs must be better managed and regulated.

Yesterday, the Observer’s Kimone Francis spoke to people in the Corporate Area, several of whom strongly opposed the idea of banning the dogs they have described as protective animals.

Here is what they had to say:

Julian Graham, 43: I think they should ban pit bulls, but I don’t know about rottweilers. Pit bulls are so terrible, based on what I learn about them. Mi learn seh dem bite up dem owners.

Otano Dennis, 22: I don’t think the Government should ban pit bulls or rottweilers, because this is Jamaica and there are a lot of thieves and people trying to break into your house. I have a pit bull at home and she stays alert all the. She make mi know when anybody a try fi do anything so me nuh think the Government should ban them — that’s stupid. They are dangerous, but as long as you give them the right training they are okay. The owners just have to train the dogs and not do bad things to them to get them aggravated to always attack people.

Lorna Green: I don’t agree with it because you have your dog in your home [and] it protects it. It protects your children. All you have to do is put them in a kennel. In the night now when you know everybody inside you let them out to protect your home because thief break into people home, so when you have those dogs they are not going to take the chance. Even when they have their guns they’re not going to take the chance. They are vicious animals and I know them. From yu not used to the animal it’s going to attack you. They are supposed to build their perimeter fences at least 20 feet from the ground to keep them in, but I don’t agree with the Government banning them.

5 thoughts on “YES DI DANGEROUS DOG DEM FI GET BAN

1. I am a pit bull owner, my current pit is my 3rd pit, any dog will and can attack you. It’s not the dog, it’s how you train your dogs. My pits have been around our newborn babies, infants and toddlers. They have been ridden like horses, ears and tails pulled and eyes poked. My children literally terrorized my dogs. They have never bitten or attacked them. These dogs are the most loving, faithful and loyal of animals. People need to know they are dangerousl if TAUGHT to be dangerous.

2. HHmmmm the usual knee jerk reactions. Had the dogs been mongrels we would have heard a different tune. Are we to say mongrels are any less dangerous? I have the scars and seen enough to say HELL NO! All dogs can be ferocious and the all can be cowardly. The whole thing depends on treatment and the handlers. What I would prefer is amending the laws as it relates to enclosure, tags, ownership and also provocation. Yes, provocation because many times innocent persons get bit because some asshole(s) keep taunting the damn dogs. Everytime dem pass the ppl dem yard dem fling ova deh, dem taunt dem. I see it with my neighbor’s dogs. Mongrels might I add, that only use to bark when some one come a the gate. Never use to attack anyone. Fawt, likkle construction a gwaan down the road and every time the worker dem a pass dem provoke dem. Weh day the gate never lock and the dog dem not even wait til dem a pass dem rush dem from early. Two get bite up wicked til one pants tear off a me same one affi run dem in. From that the dog dem nuh like see nobody all who nuh trouble dem.

3. I’m not an animal lover per se but I do have a soft spot for dogs as I think they are arguably the most useful animal to man. this type of ban is better utilised in countries where the authorities can protect the citizens so they can’t use protection as a defence to owning a dangerous animal..I agree with the comments about training and not provoking the animals, I grew up in Jamaica where it was seen as fun to tease dogs, I use o do it myself but I never knew then that teasing them could lead to them becoming aggressive.. I think things like tagging and putting the dog on a leash in public and making the owner personally liable for any attack would be a better idea..

4. Pit bulls were bred for slaughter and that trait cannot come out of their DNA. They can be so peaceful and loving and out of the blue just snap on their very owner for no explainable reason. Any animal can turn on you at anytime, even birds can dive bomb you and do a little damage, some ppl have been bitten by pigs, and many animal farmers have had their fare share of scary tales to tell. The problem with pit bulls, Staffordshire terriers, and similar dogs of that nature is that while goat bucks, hog bites, and birds dive bombing is painful and even traumatic for a short period it doesn’t usually lead to death, these muscular fighting dog breeds usually will kill you or severely maim you when they decide to fully attack and give it their all. These dogs are solid muscles and the strength of their jaws is not like any average mongrel. Stoning mongrels will work to ward them off, try stoning a pit or Rottweiler and see if that works to wards them off. For those talking about personal safety and protection, if somebody wants to kill you no dog not going to protect you, you must come a road, you must go to work, and if all else fails they can poison your dog to get to you. Many ppl are being killed away from their homes, so keeping a dog for protection in JA is almost useless these day, perhaps in another country, but in JA if them really want you they will get to you.

5. Ban every single one of them and hold their owners fully accountable when their dogs attack, maim and kill people. What a cruel way to die! Some of these owners make me so angry. They want the rights to have these killer dogs but are so irresponsible. You have to have been bit before to understand my fear and hatred of dogs. Ban them yes!