SOME MORE DETAILS ON THE 13YO WHO WAS SHOT BY HER BOYFRIEND

LOVE STRUCK’ -Teen killed in ‘accidental’ shooting

While most parents busy themselves with back-to-school preparations, family members of a 13-year-old Green Pond High student remain dead frozen in their tracks, as the troubled, yet beloved, teenager was accidentally shot by her ‘close friend’ – one the family made every attempt to separate her from.

Dead is 13-year-old Shamar Hoffenden of a Pitfour, Granville address in St. James.

A 17-year-old boy, said to be her ‘close friend’ and accused of causing the fatal shooting, is reportedly on the run.

The information received by the Western Mirror from the Police is that shortly after noon on Saturday, Shamar was in a room at the home of a neighbour when the tragic incident occurred.

It’s understood that while in the room, the accused walked in carrying an illegal weapon, which he and Shamar allegedly began to play with.

The details remain unclear, but shortly after, an explosion was heard coming from the direction of the room occupied by the teens.

The police report that the 17-year-old boy pulled the injured Shamar from the room and onto the front yard, following which he ran to her mother’s house and told her that her daughter had been shot.

He then fled the scene and is still being sought by the police.

It was discovered that the 13-year-old had been struck in the head. She was rushed to the Cornwall Regional Hospital where she was pronounced dead.

Shamar, who would have been entering Grade 8 this coming September, was the seventh of her mother’s 11 children.

Deborah Middleton, mother of the deceased teen, who sells at the Charles Gordon Market, said she is not coping well with the death of her daughter.

“I am not doing too well. It’s just that she fell in love with the wrong person. I did not support this relationship. She was a jovial girl and everybody really loved her. The family is just taking it one day at a time. That is how we are trying to cope,” the grieving mother explained.

It is understood that Shamar was a troubled child, and the intervention of the Child Protection and Family Service Agency, as well as the police, were sought by her parents on numerous occasions to curb her wayward behaviour. The teen, however, continued to rebel, according to reports.

Her mother, it is understood, tried to persuade her to end the relationship with the 17-year-old, but to no avail.

12 thoughts on “SOME MORE DETAILS ON THE 13YO WHO WAS SHOT BY HER BOYFRIEND

1. Hey woman, please stop give interviews or speaking all together b/c every time u open you mouth you piss mi off “it’s just that she fell in love with the wrong person”..wey kinda love a 13yr old can fall inna if it’s not her school wrk or spongebob square pants?..11 blouse and skirt pickeny and u a no Rothschild?..after 3(I’m been generous)the government fi sterilize ppl like u who breed like rat/roaches and can’t provide for the kids financial, emotionally or protect them..lady u mek mi spirt cross.

1. You’re right. Most millionaires stop at 2. Mi nuh understand how she allow herself to reach 11 and blaming her daughter for this. She is taking zero responsibility for this and I don’t like that. Some women just careliss soh. Smh.

2. How is she in the room waiting .. this means she is there before he came in … So my guess is that they live together .. and the boy shoot ar and she a go talk bout in love .. a kill di bwoy kill ar dem live together

3. RIP Shamar, really sad. Some of these children don’t want to listen but you have to put your foot down and don’t let them rule you. Mi love and provide for my children but mi nuh ramp fi put on lick. I live in the US and i made it known to the kids that u well get a beating and I will call the police. Get them in counseling and put them in all types of activities and send them to church, Parenting is hard but don’t give up. Mama I feel your pain because if she did listen she would be alive today. Father God please comfort and strengthen this family

1. My dear Opened eyes plz desist from putting on licks on your children. There are numerous research n data available that proves besting our kids is counter productive n quite frankly doesn’t work.You strike me as a fair person n easy to reason with…so please do a lil googling n see why the experts are right about not beating kids.. Punish them yes but the beatings will mash up dem brains n build resentment against you!

2. What this mother has conveniently left out is how she killed shamar with licks n never ramp fi put it on…now we see how the lil princess end up…literally dead n her behavior proved there is a correlation with abusing our kids n their reaction being quite detrimental even leading to their demise.Rest in power Shamar yet another victim of this shytstem!

3. What kind of parenting you think a mother to 11 children can give? Is older ones have to raise younger ones in those household. During the week she is looking her market goods to go sell on the weekends. When weekend come she at the market a sell from morning till evening, and that is if she is only a weekend vendor, if she is a all week vendor they would barely see her. Do you honestly think she had even two hours a week to dedicate to each child individually or to assist with homework or attend parent teachers meeting? I do not know the age range of her children, but I was would say the majority of them are either teens or a little younger. Parenting is very complex and far more than simply putting a roof over the head and food in the belly. Too many parents believe that is all they need to do. Children need attention, good examples, character building and spiritual nurturing. Many of us as adults are maladjusted because we had parents who felt if they put a roof over our heads and fed us we had everything we needed.

This woman could not effectively parent all these children. Her child is a product of her environment, so if she became wayward and stubborn to instruction it is normal for her reality. I would guess the child had to work like an adult in the home and had to take on adult responsibilities at a very young age so when the mother tried to get her to act like a child it could not happen. Parents want kids to do grocery shopping, cook meals, wash clothes for them and their siblings, clean house, go pay bills and then turn around and expect the child to be a child, that can never be because the child’s life experience so far has been an adult one. So yes, she is going to want a man sooner, move out sooner, have children sooner and do everything like a grown person because she was never allowed to be a child. Childhood is the shortest period of life and no child should be denied having a full and complete child life.

The young teen responsible needs to turn himself in. Being on the run from the law is no life for someone so young. Turn yourself in to the nearest police station and go through the legal process. It is sad what our little island is that our teenagers now see guns and can gain access to them. Gone are the days of Atari and Nintendo.

4. Young man please turn yourself in and let the law handle the rest. Being a vagabond at such a young age is no good for your spirit. If it was an accident or deliberately whatever it was do the right thing and turn yourself in to the authorities. Shamar deserves to see you doing the right thing by her.

5. Some a unnu need fi guh spend a week inna the inna-city/Ghetto and then come back come chat to mi.
    it’s the street that raise your children, nuh amount a beating or chat will change anything, you just have to move out /FLEE from that cruel environment.