CALABAR DEFENDS ITS DECISION TO BAN STUDENTS WITH LOW GRADE AVERAGE GOING INTO 5TH FORM

Education Minister Senator Ruel Reid says a decision by Calabar High School in St. Andrew to bar students who attain an average of less than 60 per cent from entering fifth form is not legal.

The Gleaner newspaper obtained a copy of a letter from the school, signed by principal Albert Corcho, which stated that in order to be promoted to grade 11, each boy must receive no less than 60 per cent for his overall average, along with good conduct.

This means that when the new school term begins next week, fourth-form students who do not meet the standard will not have a place at the all-boys institution.

Speaking on TVJ’s Smile Jamaica Thursday morning, Senator Reid said while schools can establish rules, they must conform with laws and the process of natural justice.

He said for a student to be dismissed, the school administration must refer the matter to its board, who must meet in a specified time to review the situation and make a recommendation to the principal.

But parents, he said, must also be aware that they can appeal the decision of a school board to the minister, who will review the matter and make a final decision.

Specifically in relation to the situation at Calabar High, Senator Reid said the matter also raises the question of where students who do not meet the 60 per cent average will go.

In the meantime, the Opposition Spokesman on Education Ronald Thwaites has said he supports the decision made by the administration at Calabar.

At a news conference Thursday, Mr. Thwaites said he is concerned that many children are moving through the education system without mastering the fundamentals, such as Mathematics and English.

“We compound those deficiencies by putting our children on a treadmill, where they are promoted every year according to their age, not according to their performance,” he asserted.

While Mr. Thwaites said he understood the difficulties attached to the situation at Calabar, the argued that the school’s decision should be supported.

5 thoughts on “CALABAR DEFENDS ITS DECISION TO BAN STUDENTS WITH LOW GRADE AVERAGE GOING INTO 5TH FORM

1. I can understand if they were gonna let them repeat the 4th form if they score below 60 but to throw them all out is a NoNo. That mean they failed those boys

2. So where are these students going to go they are just creating the next group of criminals because they wont get jobs as high school dropouts.

3. 60 is like a 3 which is a fair pass at csec..if u getting 50 u still get a 4 pass at csec so why kick the yutes who on track to pass dem subjects even at their current low rates of 50s ..remember not all students can compare up to Principal Corcho’s former school CAMPION where even a 2 credit won’t cut it cuz a straight 1s distinction is the standard. Phuckery u a keep up Mr.Corcho cuz ur tenure has been characterized by calabar doing well at Champs but woefully at Schools challenge quiz n academics cuz calabar is not even in the top 50 schools for csec passes now!

4. The only thing I disagree with is it being enforced for this year. Calabar has gone to the dogs, they were not on the list of top schools for some years now, they are going down and down academically. Is just a name brand school who only care about Champs and winning School Challenge Quiz, but when it comes to academics they cannot walk the walk. JC did the same a couple years back and kick out a bunch a dem. I notice KC was also going down but it seems they did a double take. If Shorty neva want her pickney fi guh Calabar u mus know the state wah dem inna.

5. Some unnu really think school a day care fi unnu pickney….
    If you cant cut the mustard , you need to learn a trade, school work a nu fi everybody.