Reggae star Buju Banton gets new appeal hearing in Atlanta
KINGSTON, Jamaica — A lawyer for convicted Jamaican reggae star Buju Banton says a U.S. federal appellate court has agreed to hear his appeal.
The Grammy-winning singer is serving a 10-year sentence for convictions on cocaine conspiracy and trafficking charges stemming from a 2009 arrest. He was convicted in 2011 following a sting operation.
In a Tuesday email, attorney Charles Ogletree says the full 11th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Atlanta will hold a hearing on the case.
COURTROOM ARTISTS SKETCH Chris O’Meara/AP A courtroom sketch of Grammy-winning Jamaican reggae singer Buju Banton, at his sentencing on cocaine charges in Florida.
The decision comes after a panel of that court in 2012 upheld Banton’s convictions. His former defense lawyer had argued that a government informant improperly entrapped the singer.
Ogletree says Banton is pleased with the court’s decision. It’s not clear when the hearing will take place.
well it’s a gud luk yuh can call it seh him duh 5yrs suh far outta 10 which maybe all more cuz jail count day and night suh wan day a really two
Prison in America does not count night and day, the federal prison only grant a MAXIMUM of 54 days off each year for good time. Anyhoo hope things work out for him and he gets to go home to his family.
oh okay
Hope tings wrerk out fi Buju. Mi still lub him an hope dis won’t take away from his talent.
I’m happy to hear the good news in everything we do GOD will comes through for his peoples.
buju is one a dawnie metro baby daddies
Waste a time, we all dun know what di outcome will be.