Plaintiff – Appellee,
v.
ANDREW WAYNE LANDELLS, a/k/a Herbert Hill, a/k/a John
Watson, a/k/a John Lee, a/k/a Michael Munoz, a/k/a Mark
Sierra,
Defendant – Appellant.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of North Carolina, at Raleigh. James C. Dever III,
Chief District Judge. (5:13-cr-00040-D-1)
Submitted: September 29, 2015 Decided: October 9, 2015
Before MOTZ, KING, and KEENAN, Circuit Judges.
Affirmed in part; dismissed in part by unpublished per curiam
opinion.
Scott L. Wilkinson, SCOTT L. WILKINSON & ASSOCIATES, P.C.,
Raleigh, North Carolina, for Appellant. Jennifer P. May-Parker,
Assistant United States Attorney, Raleigh, North Carolina, for
Appellee.
Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.
PER CURIAM:
In a written plea agreement, Andrew Wayne Landells pled
guilty to conspiracy to conduct financial transactions involving
the proceeds of specified unlawful activity, in violation of 18
U.S.C. § 1956(a)(1)(B)(i), (h) (2012). The district court
imposed a 180-month sentence. Landells’ attorney has filed a
brief in accordance with Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738
(1967), stating that, in counsel’s view, there are no
meritorious issues for appeal, but questioning whether the
Government breached the plea agreement, and whether the district
court erred in enhancing Landells’ sentence for possession of a
firearm. Landells filed a pro se supplemental brief also
challenging the firearm enhancement to his sentence. The
Government has moved to dismiss the appeal based on Landells’
waiver in the plea agreement of his right to appeal his
sentence. We grant the Government’s motion to dismiss the
appeal in part, and we affirm the district court’s judgment.
“Plea bargains rest on contractual principles, and each
party should receive the benefit of its bargain.” United
States v. Blick, 408 F.3d 162, 173 (4th Cir. 2005) (citation and
internal quotations omitted). “A defendant may waive the right
to appeal his conviction and sentence so long as the waiver is
knowing and voluntary.” United States v. Davis, 689 F.3d 349,
354 (4th Cir. 2012) (citing United States v. Marin, 961 F.2d
493, 496 (4th Cir. 1992)). We review the validity of an appeal
waiver de novo, and we “will enforce the waiver if it is valid
and the issue appealed is within the scope of the waiver.” Id.
at 354-55 (citing Blick, 408 F.3d at 168).
We have reviewed the plea agreement and the Fed. R. Crim.
P. 11 hearing, and we conclude that Landells’ appeal waiver was
knowing and voluntary. On appeal, Landells contends that the
Government breached the plea agreement at sentencing by not
supporting its recommendation of a three-level enhancement for
Landells’ role in the offense, rather than the four-level
enhancement recommended in the presentence report. Landells
asserts that this issue falls outside the scope of the waiver.
“A defendant’s waiver of appellate rights cannot foreclose
an argument that the government breached the plea agreement.”
United States v. Dawson, 587 F.3d 640, 644 n.4 (4th Cir. 2009)
(citing United States v. Cohen, 459 F.3d 490, 495 (4th Cir.
2006)). Moreover, “we will not enforce an otherwise valid
appeal waiver against a defendant if the government breached the
plea agreement containing that waiver.” Cohen, 459 F.3d at 495
(citing Blick, 408 F.3d at 168); see also United States v.
Lewis, 633 F.3d 262, 271 n.8 (4th Cir. 2011) (citing Dawson, 587
F.3d at 644 n.4; Cohen, 459 F.3d at 495). However, where a
defendant alleges a breach by the Government but “the record in
[the] case does not support [the defendant’s] claim,” we “will
not invalidate [the defendant’s] appeal waiver based on [the
unsupported] allegations.” Cohen, 459 F.3d at 495.
Based on our review of the record, we conclude that
Landells’ claim that the Government breached the plea agreement
by not supporting its recommendation of a three-level
enhancement for Landells’ role in the offense is not supported
by the record. The plea agreement provided that the Government
agreed to a three-level enhancement; it did not require the
Government to argue in support of the position or to
“enthusiastically” recommend the three-level enhancement. See
United States v. Benchimol, 471 U.S. 453, 455 (1985) (holding
that there is no requirement for the Government to
“enthusiastically” make a certain recommendation or to provide
reasons for a recommendation, absent an agreement to do so).
Moreover, we conclude that Landells’ guilty plea and his appeal
waiver are valid and enforceable. Accordingly, we affirm
Landells’ conviction.
Landells’ other issue raised on appeal — that the district
court erred in enhancing his sentence for possession of a
firearm — falls within the scope of the waiver. We therefore
dismiss the appeal as to that claim. In accordance with Anders,
we have reviewed the record for any potentially meritorious
issues that might fall outside the scope of the waiver and have
found none.
Accordingly, we grant the Government’s motion to dismiss
the appeal in part, and affirm the district court’s judgment.
This court requires that counsel inform Landells, in writing, of
his right to petition the Supreme Court of the United States for
further review. If Landells requests that a petition be filed,
but counsel believes that such a petition would be frivolous,
then counsel may move in this court for leave to withdraw from
representation. Counsel’s motion must state that a copy thereof
was served on Landells. We dispense with oral argument because
the facts and legal contentions are adequately presented in the
materials before this court and argument would not aid the
decisional process.
AFFIRMED IN PART;
DISMI

15 thoughts on “ANDREW WAYNE LANDELLS………..NOT HOLNESS INLAW

1. Wow!! Morning Met and all.
    Andrew knowing his aspirations in life should have divorced juliet ass when this shiit went down if her earnings not matching up. I hope her damn hands clean and Andrew isn’t a sidekick to this.
    How about the files of the others siblings and offsprings of other candidates cause a nuff dark, tinted glass house out there fi peep into. 😀

2. Oh, so the Mansion in Beverly Hills belongs to the Brother? Juliet Holness (Juliet Landell [no s at the end of the name], according to the Jamaica Gleaner) was just holding the house for her brother?
    Andrew Wayne Landells has been trafficking drugs from, at least, 2002. He had a very creative money laundering scheme, which, more than likely, extend beyond the US border. Which Jamaica drugs man doesn’t have money a yard?
    Oh, what a tangled web we weave. When first we practice to deceive!
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20111120/out/out1.html
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Holness-silent-on-land_51731

1. Something tells me this is juliet’s doing and Andrew being mister supportive got caught up in her dream house scheme. One pumpum mek some man do fart.
      From papers are forthcoming then it’s just a bad buy and ugly architecture all around.

3. Juliet has one brother in NYC and that is his not his name. The press should make sure they have all there ducks in a row before printing.

1. Not be be picky here, but the word is THEIR (their ducks), not THERE (there ducks). When I see people make these silly mistakes I often time discount what they have to say. To regain your credibility, what is the name of the brother? Do they share the same last name (Landell or Landells).
      You said:
      “Juliet has one brother in NYC….”
      Does that mean she has other brothers elsewhere (in other US States or other parts of the world) or she only has ONE brother, period? What “press” are we talking about here?

4. Andrew Holness and him wife, ah doh trust dem. Di two a dem a run fi seat same time, hungry fi powa, fi rob up di country. As much as mi cya stan Portia a hope she win again. Andrew dem some learn the trade of bandooluism from Juliette’s dear brother. And a bet mi life savings seh him have something to do with that house.

5. Landells is not Juliet’s maiden name. Her name is Landell. The PNP is trying hard to deceive the Jamaican people because they know they are behind, regardless of what the polls say.

6. How exactly would we know if Juliet and Andrew Landells are related? I don’t think it’s smart to just go off of their surnames.

7. Yuh quite arite bout not to be picky, I know what i am saying. Like I said Juliet has one younger brother who is currently living in NYC, living his life lawfully. Just like how unuh guh find article bout Andrew Wayne LandellS is her brother unuh must can go find the truth. Not searching for you to deem mi as credible. After I don’t know you or you know mi who cares if yuh believe. See one other person come talk bout Juliet and her brother and relating the family to illegal activity when that is farthest from who her ONE brother is.

1. I am going to side with you on this.
      This dude is 47 years old at the time of this article. Juliet is the eldest of her siblings and she isn’t 47, but younger. On top of the fact that thus dude was presented to the courts with 5 other alias…I doubt Landell(s) is even his name.
      Met, I think this story is a plant.

8. THEN MET MI NO HEAR SEH ANDREW HAVE A SIDE CHICK UP A MONA ALL RENT APARTMENT FI HAR? CAN ANY FROM.UP A MONA COME CONFIRM PLEASE.

9. Hey look, this guy is from east, his two brother were killed in gang war in east side, ricky and elvis, this guy has been a hustler since he left excelsior, he has 3 sisters and none of them know Juliet, one name Ann Marie. He certainly is not related to Juliet. Rubbish.By the way his mother died years ago.Trust me