BARBADOS SHAMED INTO PAYIG BUT MONEY IS B1000 SHORT

48410shaniquemyriea20131004ng-Optimized
AFTER a frustrating eight-month wait, Shanique Myrie has finally been paid by the Barbadian Government. However, the money is short of B$1,000, Myrie told the Jamaica Observer.
Myrie was awarded damages in the sum of US$38,000 by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) after she filed a lawsuit claiming she was subjected to a dehumanising cavity search by a female immigration officer at Grantley Adams International Airport, locked in a filthy room overnigwht and deported to Jamaica in March 2011.
“My lawyer called me this morning (Monday) and told me the money was in the account. It was a long wait but finally it is over,” Myrie told the Jamaica Observer.
The CCJ had also ruled that Barbados should foot the bill of Myrie’s legal costs and said the action was a serious breach of her right of entry into that country.
Last week, a frustrated Myrie threatened to file another complaint before the court after the award was not paid, despite promises from Barbadian officials.
Before that, Foreign Affairs Minister AJ Nicholson announced in Parliament that the onus was on Myrie and her legal team, and not on the Jamaican Government, to ensure that Barbados complied with the judgement.
On Friday, Barbados’ Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite told the media in the eastern Caribbean state that the money had been paid over but late Friday evening Myrie said the payment did not show up in her lawyer’s account.
Her plight was brought to international attention after the Observer reported her ordeal.
She had also complained that she was subjected to derogatory remarks from the female official who told her she was her ‘worst nightmare’.
“The lady took me into a bathroom and told me to take off my clothes. I did as requested. After searching me and my clothes she found no contraband or narcotics. She then asked me to bend over, open my legs and spread (my private parts). She said that if I did not comply then she would see that I end up in prison in Barbados,” Myrie said.
“When I bent over and spread my (private parts) I felt something enter my (private parts) and when I looked between my legs I saw her gloved hand in my (private parts). I screamed and stood up. She then told me if I obstructed her doing a cavity search she would have me locked up. I bent over again and spread. She again inserted her fingers and poked around. I felt like I was being raped. I was so hurt and ashamed. I felt dirty and defiled,” she said.
“I asked her who she was and she said ‘I am your worst nightmare’. She then said ‘All you (expletive) Jamaicans come here to do is either steal people’s man or bring drugs here,” Myrie recounted.
Myrie told the Observer that the immigration officer removed her identification tag before committing the act.
“She said I hate these (expletive) Jamaicans,” Myrie said.
Another Jamaican woman is now awaiting her day in court after accusing two male cops in Barbados of raping her after she was arrested for smuggling ganja into the country.
The woman complained that one of the cops forced her to perform oral sex on him and that a woman cop aided and abetted both men in the sexual assault.
Two of the cops have been arrested and charged while one of the male cops has since fled Barbados.
CAPTION:
MYRIE… it was a long wait but finally it is over
ADVERTISEMENT

0 thoughts on “BARBADOS SHAMED INTO PAYIG BUT MONEY IS B1000 SHORT

1. Den Barbados nuh pride demself as being one a di richest countries in di Caribbean, suh how dem caan pay di small figa of 38K US?