BOUNTY WAP UP BILLBOARD

Bounty-Killer

grunggaadzilla

Dear Government of Jamaica, Reggae/ Dancehall Artistes, What are you doing to preserve Reggae Music? What measures are implemented for A genre birthed on the Island which is widely celebrated elsewhere, giving others the chance to benefit more than us? How many more Matisyahu’s, Eddi Murphy’s, and Josh Stone’s will there be to benefit more than our people who do not fall short on talent? The problem is a momentous one with all of you collectively to blame. I urge you to STOP CHASTISING Reggae and Dancehall music and step up to the podium to defend and demand what is rightfully ours. You’re all doing big things separately, when will you put aside the badmind, crab in barrels, I’m booked and busy and you’re not so I don’t care mentality and FIGHT as a UNIT for the accolades we deserve? Dont tell me getting 5 minutes on the BET AWARDS or a feature on some American Artiste album is ENOUGH? At the end of the tours, concerts etc.where are the Internationally recognized accolades rewarding your best effort? The Government, and the Marley boys as Internationally recognized as they are have a voice that they don’t use to assist Reggae/Dancehall except for their own family’s personal gain. Wake up Jamaica. Shit like this is UNACCEPTABLE! F**k what Billboard says, ain’t no Reggae Artiste more deserving than a Jamaican doing authentic Reggae music!

27 thoughts on “BOUNTY WAP UP BILLBOARD

1. Ever so often Killa gives us a gem of truth in what he observes in the biz.However the sad truth is a this stage of his career,he is all bu irrelevant,virtually redundant n that’s why he was hitching on Movado’s coat tails to stay relevant.All killa does nowadays is trace,when last him do any new music?Thank God fi I-octane fi di 1 ok hit last year,kmt!

1. Thinking small has to be a disease–YardieLoveThug, Bounty can travel the world and live off his extensive catalog of music. Bounty Killer does not have to release not one more single and he will remain more relevant than most Jamaican entertainers–on a global. You have a funny way of recollecting things.

1. People measure success by the size of rims. They should kn ow bounty is among the most respected artist in the business. I do not know where some people get their truth from.

2. Relative to the destruction and stagnation of reggae/dancehall music, Jamaican entertainers and their supporting staffs are the biggest problem. Myopic in their approach, they mostly produce a product that appeals to a very minute fraction of global reggae/dancehall fans/consumers.

As one of the other commentators opined, if sales is the principal or one of the principal criterions, then we can fault Billboard Magazine for concluding in the manner in which they have.

Our music–especially reggae–is global and our local artistes are naive if they think others are going to take a back seat, while they form fools of themselves. Reggae is loved globally and if local acts don’t have the capacity or desire to give the audience what they want, don’t be mad when someone else does.

The Marleys are trying to preserve what they call reggae/dancehall, their most recent international tour was predicated on such. Somewhere within the context of ‘saving the music’ modus operandi, Damian Marley found it necessary to implore Joss Stone to release a reggae album. Hence, what does that tell you?

3. Some of these people need to recognise and understand the word veteran… when a artist is a veteran he/she have been there and done that, nothing more to prove and can live off their legacy… Bob Marley is a veteran, his children live off his legacy…Bounty killer is respected highly in the dance hall reggae business world wide only in Jamaica they expect a artist to make no1 hits everyday … Look at Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder they are veterans no need to a run down hits cause they have enough just like the General….

1. Fyah thank you; the ones don’t seem to understand the pedestal that Bounty Killer is. His legacy is certified–a true dancehall legend/great. Killer has a role to play too; he should avoid all fracases and debates with the current crop of entertainers.

He’s got to rise to the occasion and set a good example for the others to follow. Don’t wait until you get to Ninjaman’s age before you decide to take on the mantle of an elder statesman. Take the high road and all will be well.

4. Bounty killer could have sold out a long time ago but I have to say I regard him highly for his moral stance and his the pedestal he puts reggae on.

5. Bounty Killa a my DJ from day one and still is today! It sound like Yardielovinthug is a young un who start listen music yesterday which is quite sad considering our very rich history of reggae and dancehall music. I was the DJ for a Christmas house party this week and 80% of the songs I played was from the 70s and 80s, we had people from all over the world there, Africans, British and other Caribbean nationals and I could not get a chance to play Alkaline et al, the people were so high off the old time songs, I couldn’t change the music or even leave the party lol. The youngsters in England can listen to all type of music but guess what they listening to every single day? Dancehall! a dem mek me know some of these young artistes so Bounty 100% right that while these artistes slave to keep the legacy alive others just want to reap the benefits.

6. A weh duh Dah batty fish deh up deh suh bout killa need movado? Yuh mus a drink mad puss piss…..killa nuh need nobody fi relevancy how killa is dats di way him bin from day 1, nuh care how much yuh si him gwaan him always lick out pon certain issues weh a affect di culture, if a Neva him we wudnt know movado r kartel , ele, sham, on di list goes on, likkle boy are girl which ever u may be guh learn some dancehall history b4 yuh type.

7. Yardielovin….I can see clear that u are 1 of the young people who don’t understand the power of our music..reggae music is a multi billion$$$$ business n what killa is simply saying is our government help it they fight it every day..so other people jump at the chance they get to use it…I can name a few groups maroon 5 top billboard twice with reggae songs n many more have done it..so when u hear the general a talk listen n don’t hate..if u think mavado is as big as bounty killa u only a fool to self gu check the Fox

8. Bless up guys I’m back from Coronation Market….good food @ good prices yall check em out downtown.I must admit u guys have made valid points but let me clarify the following. My dad n Mom Inna Rasta so I grew up on roots reggae but had a great appreciation for Old school dancehall.The glory years of which was early 90s to abt 2006.Bounty ruled back then with songs of substance..book book,mama she is not in aggod mood,poor ppl fed up..etc!Gage n alkaslime dem will never live fi do any hits dat can compare to bounty catalogue cuz they r narrowminded catering to the sketel crowd.Ok so true he don’t need New music but why fill the void with this bag a cuss cuss with th artistes dem??wha day it was him n tommylee,kartel etc..

9. Look at Shaggy,u ever hear him n anybody Inna cass cass?? There is a way to be that Elder statesman n classy veteran to steer the young ones in the rt direction n preserve n expand reggae/dancehall rich legacy.My bro Lalibela a Nile surely u have taken note of Bounty’s cantangarousness* thruout the years??Him cuss sham fi experiment with diff beats on sham’s hit album,him cuss Cecile dem,even di rasta dem…tell me who killa nuh trace dat born already? Look into my eyes is my fav n realest dancehall song ever so his talent is undeniable. Ok so you are not making new music,do some producing or mentoring no or gwaan buss artistes nuh…why everyweek it seems bounty on onstage or some stage . Lick out pon someone or something n why can’t he dweet in a constructive manner??My issue is not with his music which remains relevant n timeless it is with his frock tail fish ground higgler bully behaviour n mannerism.Listen it is a known fact…u don’t want Killa fi start him mouth pon u enuh,it nuh normal di tings dat man say under the guise of “warlord”!Go do some touring,go mixing lab but it grows weary n here is how u can prove it.Go up to anyone even a perfect stranger n asked dem if dem hear wha bounty killa say wha day ya?i gurantee u that the person will sigh n ask a who n killa now or a who trouble him?!#facts! Bless up bloggers me a make a move again,big up unno self whether unno agree or disagree!only rasta can save the music..kartel n him likes a destroy it to shyt!

10. But u have to have someone set them idiot deh straight…we not going to have fool fool people mash up what was build..if u notice is not Sean Paul r shaggy a mash up dancehall it kartel n him followers sing madness su a part of the job the killa take on is to pick out the bad weed

11. I would love to ask what tone BK should use to get his point across…him nuh Jamaican..ghetto gladiator..poor People governor..cross & blunt?!! I totally agree with everything he stands for when addressing DH/Reggae music. No other artiste speaks out against the injustice against our authentic DJs/Singers like him..big up yourself everyday Bounti, its gonna get worse this is just the beginning

12. Bounty free to criticize whoever him like he is entitled to a personal opinion like everyone else. I agree his criticisms could be more constructive at times but then maybe the majority would not even take notice, take for instance this post, how many of the youths will even see or hear of this? i’m guessing not many. I don’t know how long it took Bounty to make this assessment but I think its a little late, I remember Met putting up a post a few years ago warning that dancehall was in danger of being appropriated by foreigners and look yah now, maybe the powers that be wont take any more notice of Bounty than they did of the Pink Wall but somebody still needs to say.

13. Yardielovethug please go do your reaserch bounty needs no one killa help put movado where he at so how he need movado ? Don’t come on here and make a fool of yourself pls do your reaserch

14. Yes killa is correct and more need to seal up on these issues by other artist becaus is them the young ppl look up to