Dear Editor,
The surge in the number of children who have been gruesomely murdered in our society is a strong indication that crime in our country is completely out of control. Although crime exists in every society, we cannot allow criminals to force law-abiding citizens into hiding. Together as a nation we have to take a more vigorous approach to eradicate these cold-blooded murderers. Undeniably, not all criminals should be given the death penalty. Nonetheless, people who go about terrorizing and brutally murdering others, including children, for personal gains should indeed get the death penalty.
We urge our members of parliament to feel the pain that the victims’ families and communities are feeling from these murders and take necessary actions to amend current legislation on crime and punishment. New legislation should include minimum mandatory sentences, in which first-time offenders who commit sexual offences against children are sentenced to at least 10 years in prison, and most importantly, bring back the death penalty for those who commit more heinous crimes.
Evidently, capital punishment is, and will always be a controversial topic in which many people will argue that it is an inhumane act and “two wrongs don’t make a right”.
But the death penalty is not about right or wrong, it is protecting society from heartless killers who have absolutely no regards for human life.
While the victim can never be restored following a murder, the death sentence will bring some form of closure for the families.
Undoubtedly, many of our citizens will agree that re-implementation of the death penalty in Jamaica is long overdue, as it is our only hope of regaining our beautiful country. It will not only get rid of the violent murderers who are roaming amongst us, but will also serve as a strong deterrent to reducing crime.
Advocate for Capital Punishment
Admin mi a beg yuh leave dis right a de front its not wsnted but needed ev en rules deh a hell wid punishment if broken nd for a country eith s WOMAN as it’s leader she sudden a sleep tuh ALL MOTHERS CRY..Lisa Hanna alone caan dweet lets unite nd stand firm pon dis
WE NEED THE DEATH PENALTY. .NUFF A UNU A GUH SEH MI WICKED ND BADMIND AND ALL DESE THINGS BUT ALL KARTEL MISS IT BY THE LYRIC OF HIS LIPS A MINCE DEM MINCE UP LIZARD.
*any typo or dunce-ness unno c tek place a cuz a mi fone mi a use nd mi turn off de JMG INTELLECTUAL AUDIENCE PRESENT*
It has to start in the schools..The campaign should have advocates in every school that will be able to get closer to the children and make reports to an agency who will prosecute the men…The children may not want to testify against them but if these men know that they will get in trouble for being involved with minors that is more than half the battle.
Jus like DV here wen dere os solid proof of nd de ppl dem a waan press charges and follow through the system picks it up nd deal wid it….sumtin needs to be done and frm wah day weh yah seh bout technology is damn chue frm ot reach a yaad de ppl dem let guh all morals which we once had full time.
Kids, woman nd elders where all protected nung dem jus a wipe dem out like it’s ntn
Dem haffi mek the children know it is wrong and they have to also crack down on the parents that are selling their children
Long time dis a gwaan. Teenager a deh with big man because dem can mine dem and the parents a approve some a dem all force the children to be with the men because dem a get something. The law has to make them pay because these children are abused by these men sexually and emotionally. I know man big old man whey deh with teenagers and say dem nuh deh with woman pass 25 so more time u will see some 23/24 yr old with some 60 year old and that old man still have a teenager pan di side fi when that one get too old.
What form of death penalty should they use,hanging,lethal injection,stoning,firing squad?
Hanginggg beating then publicly hanged
All a dem especially de public hanging
Everything every last one n when we super upset we mix rat poison n blue put INNA syringe inject dem ass wid dem too wicked man
Hanging,right in the miggle of a square
Yes for all to see and know that will be their fate
Yuh nuh c dancehall queen did show it up wen de big dutty man neva waan Audrey a Anderson him did want nd she give him her bout dats de only way money wuda cum inna de house.
Dem fi lock up the parents dem tuh cuz a dem a sell de kids dem tuh dese big gray tone big hood man
But look at the young woman whey dem kill last year whey all now no killer nuh come forward but u hear is a big man she did deh wid. 20 year old and dem deh with a 60 year old ..14 and dem deh wid 40 year old
Luk.pon tjenone a sandy gully weh dem rape nd leff naked pon the sun hot concrete…dere is so many nd weh leff unturn de system haffi wake up now a sleep way too long nd ppl haffi stop jold dem tongue all bcuz dem nuh waan tuh be labeled as informer or bcuz yuh sum set a dutty police weh same wannturn round a tell de dutty killa dem a who turn dem in..Jamaica need a clean sweep
rape and leave her naked then go about his business and function like him normal I’m sure. People can stop holding their tongues when there is confidence in the law.
Met being as you have a huge fan base maybe you could organize a rally outside the Jamaica councilate in Manhattan maybe even try to get Evette Clark (jamaican politician) on board for those who want to do sum’n or have there voices heard it will draw alot of attention, then eventually put pressure on the jamaican goverment to have a zero tolerance on crime, violence and corruption
Large viewship but I wouldn’t say a lot of fans..People like to read JMG but not support if u get what I’m saying..From last night mi a reel and I hate feeling helpless so Ive prayed about it and ask God to help me make a way. I can try and will try here on JMG and see what we can get out there
When I look at the monthly data reports and see say is almost 2mil people monthly check jmg..the comments alone should give u an idea. If even half of that should show support whether through rallying or writing then we really could do things
Metty mi deh pon board when yuh launch ANY campaign, and mi can get others fi get involved as well. Mi tired ah it……
Mi fed up ah di government di police di people dem everything.
Gotcha!! But i bet if it was to free the wurl bawse them wudda march over the brooklyn bridge,some ppl priorities are so twisted
How u know? If di judge did ask di public fi serve di time fi him u woulda see the fight fi the cell
Am a unionized worker so we do alot of rallies,picket line for prevailing wages basically organised labor ,we only got like 5000 members and we get the job done coz the big contractors dont want all that negative publicity so they comply……the same thing can happen in jamaica’s case
Yes when the Jamaican government see the bad press they will move . People have to put pressure on the government but with this u know say some of the politicians are guilty of the same thing though? I heard of a minister who got a young girl pregnant ..she was 14 and a lot of the same politicians were in attendance at a shower for the girl…….
For the children and sex abuse it would seem like u would have to have an overseas agency whey interview n collect evidence etc because if its done in Jamaica it will be a big problem because a lot of top men are involved
Smh
Met u r so right about everything that u just said. All ur comments are on point.
I was just telling a friend a few days ago I honestly feel the need for it in the country along with hanging some a dem in Spanish town square once more. Dem a get out a control, Haiti got a earthquake whey claim so many lives and no one was safe. I thought my likkle island would’ve been shaken up, but instead dem heartless and claim innocent lives daily. The bible did seh it the devil come fi rob, kill and destroy mek mi wonder if a really jamaica him reside.
when i think of Jamaica now i think its no better than Nigeria with all this nonsense killing
Jamaica is a pencil point compared to how big Nigeria is and if that man did ever kill any little girl like this they would not only kill him but they would purge the land because its an abomination