BRITISH PRIME MINISTER PROPOSES LAW FOR POLICE TO SEIZE THE WAGES OF ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS IN THE U.K

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 8.24.13 AM

British Prime Minister David Cameron will propose new laws to control immigration in a speech Thursday, including giving police the power to seize wages earned by illegal immigrants.

In his first speech on the issue since winning this month’s general election with a surprise majority, Cameron said his centre-right Conservative government would include a new immigration bill in next Wednesday’s Queen’s Speech.

This is when Queen Elizabeth II reads out the new government’s legislative programme at the ceremonial state opening of parliament.

“The truth is it has been too easy to work illegally and employ illegal workers here,” Cameron will say, according to extracts of his speech released in advance by his Downing Street office.

“So we’ll take a radical step — we’ll make illegal working a criminal offence in its own right.”

That would mean that wages paid to people in Britain illegally could be seized by police as “proceeds of crime”, closing a legal loophole, and that businesses will be informed when their workers’ visas expire.

Immigration is a highly sensitive issue in Britain — opinion polling for the election repeatedly identified it as one of the top three most important issues for voters.

The Cameron-led coalition government, which was in power from 2010 until this month’s election, failed to deliver on a promise to cut net migration to below 100,000 per year.

In February, official statistics put the annual figure at 298,000 including a significant increase in the number of people arriving from Romania and Bulgaria, both of which joined the European Union in 2007.

Britain will hold a referendum by 2017 on whether to leave the EU. Cameron has already said he wants to make it harder for EU migrants to claim state benefits.

The Conservatives also want to compel any job seeker from an EU country to leave if they have not found work within six months.

Last week, Home Secretary Theresa May said that economic migrants who try and reach the EU by crossing the Mediterranean should be turned back.

Cameron’s new package of measures on immigration also includes making all banks check their accounts against databases of people in the country illegally and satellite tracking tags for foreign criminals awaiting deportation.

0 thoughts on “BRITISH PRIME MINISTER PROPOSES LAW FOR POLICE TO SEIZE THE WAGES OF ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS IN THE U.K

1. Lawd dem a mek it hard fi poor people everyweh. After theifing England come tief every ting fom every corna a the earth dem wah stop people from eat a food.

2. And they say slavery done.

Question…Does the UK try to take a percentage of money from athletes who do track and field there? Like if you run one race there they want a percentage of all your total earnings or some such? Not just what you earned there? I thought I’d heard that before

3. How about the british pay some repatriation for the enslavement and theft that they did for the last few centuries.

4. Bwaay dis yah man just ah rub mi di rang way! wib him boassy naked farid. Thief wahn tief from “tief”, dem deh story nevah end well!!

5. But this Man no juss come in a powa? How the rahtid him not even warm him chair yet and is this him a penny? Maybe one immigrant Dagga him madda and leff har. Him face fava dog doodoo.

6. I agree wid the person up top weh seh repatriation fi slavery. Then England would bawl seh a nuh dem one did enslave blacks. They just want to deter blacks from coming there.

7. this is hia second term anonymous. But me did know something did ina something beforeelection. Him know di immigrants dem would mek him lose d election suh him change up d voting process. Before you could have just registered to vote without ur NI (National Insurance #) now yuh affi put that on the form when filling it out.

1. @GG, in reality you have to blame the lazy Labour voters who did not take the time to go out and vote to get this man and his party out. This that he is saying is no surprise hence why the Conservatives came out in their millions to support him during the election, they want less immigrants and they want to come out of the European Union, because the Court of justice will strike down their judicial rulings that breach Human Rights. This man’s family history goes back to hundred of years, so does his wife. This party has no clue of what poor people has to endure, as it is a party for the rich.
      Voting is a way to elect who you want to represent you as a citizen, so if you don’t exercise your rights, don’t complain. ( not directed at you) I dread to see what the next 5 years will bring smh

8. Di whole a Europe a tighten up. As matta fact every weh a tighten up. See Malaysia never even teck een di Muslim refugees di odda day, and Indonesia do did the same. Soon time everybody will have to stick to dem own country.

9. This law is a bit too much. Shouldn’t he let the employers pay a fine, rather than punish the exploited? Will the “employers” have their profits confiscated? To me, this is like saying “cripple the children, and then mock their disabilities”. Him damn neck wrinkly and shrivel up like!

10. Very ironic how a nation that was built using wealth gained by theft and enslavement now wants to stop people from going to their country and work unlike the many citizens who refuse to work and just want to live off state benefits.

11. a dem people yah we fi wuk science pon wicked set a devil dem di queen un har offsprings. if dis no start riot inna england dis no mek no kinda sense. poor a get poorer what is left to do? only solution is revolution!

1. @Waah, believe it or not, the Queen has nothing to do with these laws, she is just a figure head and has no real take on political issues in regards to the laws being made. When laws are passed by parliament,as a convention she has to sign the documents to make them officially binding laws whether she agrees with it or not. If she refuses, it will cause a great constitutional crisis. the last time a monarch refuse to sign was in the 1700’s .
      The only good thing is, If they make laws that are within EU jurisdiction, the judiciary can interpret them in line with the Court of Justice rulings or send the case to have a preliminary ruling on the matter. The Court of Justice applies Convention rights within its jurisdiction, as part of its principle.
      All member states are signatories of the European Convention of Human Rights. The Charter of Fundamental rights of the European Union was given legal binding effect by the Treaty of Lisbon where it puts social and economic rights on the same footing as civil and political rights. Some of the rights are : Dignity (e.g. right to life, prohibition on torture) Freedoms(e.g. liberty and security, respect for private and family life, right to marry, freedom of thought, religion, expression; right to education). Equality (e.g. non discrimination, cultural, linguistic and religious diversity; rights for children, the disabled and the elderly) Solidarity (e.g. Workers’ rights to information and consultation; social security, health care, environmental and consumer protection) Citizenship rights (e.g. voting, good administration, access to documents, the Parliament and the Ombudsman and diplomatic and consular protection). Justice (e.g. effective remedy and fair trial, presumption of innocence and fair trial).
      These are mostly binding on the UK government and persons can challenge UK law in regarding those rights above. Hence, that is why they want to leave the EU because EU rulings take precedence over UK law and the Judiciary has already acknowledge this. So though Cameron might say that he is bringing this law, it might not be so easy since it can affect any of those rights mentioned, e.g. the rights of the child is paramount, if the parents cannot work to feed and house the child , there will be a violation. But lets see what will happen in the future. Met please excuse me if I over stepped my place with this long explanation.