CARBON MONOXIDE LEAK LEADS AUTHORITIES TO CHILDREN LEFT ALONE

Screen Shot 2015-03-13 at 1.29.54 AM-Optimized

It started as a call about a carbon monoxide leak. But when crews went to check it out they say they found two children inside a home living in awful conditions.

The rowhome on the 7000 block of Guilford Road in Upper Darby has been declared unfit for human habitation.

The woman who lives there, 29-year-old Christina Wright, has been charged with endangering the welfare of her children.

Around 10:00 Wednesday night, the next door neighbors called 911 when their CO detector went off.

After checking that home, firefighters and police went next door and found the front door open.

The home had no heat, and the oven was turned on as a source of warmth.

Upstairs a space heater was on in a room filled with clothing and papers.

In a back bedroom police found a 7-year-old girl and her 4-year-old brother. She told police her mom was at work and she was babysitting.

Police Superintendent Michael Chitwood says, “The house was declared a fire hazard by the police department because of the oven being used as a source of heat and the space heater. And it was so dirty and so filthy in there that the health department shut it down as unfit for human habitation.”

The children were taken to police headquarters, and when mom arrived she was arrested.

Neighbors called the entire incident a shame.

Chris Right of Upper Darby says, “I don’t even know what to think about that. That’s scary. I mean, I have kids of my own, so it’s scary.”

Firefighters detected low levels of carbon monoxide in the home – likely from the oven running.

The children were unharmed and they are now in the care of a relative while children’s services looks into their wellbeing.

Christina Wright was arraigned and released on $30,000 unsecured bail.
Map My News
Related Topics:

0 thoughts on “CARBON MONOXIDE LEAK LEADS AUTHORITIES TO CHILDREN LEFT ALONE

1. No don’t say that..As a single mother maybe she can’t even afford day care..I don’t know y the 7 yr old was not in school n she a live in that place..It rough a farrin

2. It’s sad, just as how police and fire could have come in the house a pedophile or child killer could have come in. Folks need to know there are some laws you don’t break nuh care how times rough. I am glad it was law enforcement who entered that home and not someone else with dark intentions.

1. I feel it cause a work she gone, but on the other hand why the place filthy?
    And then dancehall troll ya a abuse the system and this lady clearly needs the help.

2. Why didn’t she ask for help for her children? Surely, there are Children Agencies, Advocates, Crisis Centers, the churches, or somebody who cares, are usually there to help out in times of need such as this case.

1. And sometimes is pride. I know a girl lef new york go Kansas City to her baby father. Him put her and the pickney out and she was homeless and btoke

3. Thank God for that/those Carbon Monoxide Detector(s), otherwise there might have been two dead children and possible more next door [which had the actual Detector(s)]. EVERY home should have AT LEAST ONE UNIT, especially if you have Gas Appliances (Range, Water Heater, Furnace, etc.) and attached Garage. You can get the cheap $10 units and they don’t have to be the interconnected ones.

As can be seen in this story, the source of the Carbon Monoxide was from the Attached Unit Next Door, so even if you do not have any of the Appliances mentioned above, the contamination can be from outside your home. There was a case in one of the Warm State a few years ago, where some Teenagers left a Car running in an Attached Garage of a Townhouse and Carbon Monoxide went up the stairs from the Garage and killed 3-4 of those Teenagers inside the Townhouse unit (2nd Floor).

4. I hear you, but with no heat and young children who are homeless (since the place was filthy and doomed unsuitable to live in) certainly someone somewhere (especially from the church) would’ve probably helped out.

1. Sometimes the moms are scared the state will take away their kids too, so dem try tough it out till better come…me just glad the kids are ok…me feel it for them

1. Yes because they didn’t ask to come and haffi a face it from early. Tweet people think it easy and its not when u have kids so young. Day care alone is sometimes more than someone’s pay check and u have rent to pay and other bills, there are hardly any housing programs anymore, the system is drained . She have no excuse fi have the place dirty but I understand how the kids were left there and she in that place deh. A few years ago a caribbean woman had left her 5 yr old home with her 6month old just fi go work. The father was not helping . Daycare will run u the cheapest 180 and that can go up to 325. Nuff people not carrying home $400 a week but call it $400 take home fi di week…just how can u pay any bills after footing that daycare bill? A dat di government fi focus pan getting the cost of daycare to where people can afford to pay it because the price dem a charge fi keep a small baby is ridiculous

5. Sometimes a pride. Them no waa ask especially fi help fr family. I know a girl lef new york go Kansas City to her baby father and after a yr him put her out. She lived in an abandon building fi bout 3 months until somebody help her get a job and one one bed room, she never tell her mother till long after. She know her family would help but because them did tell her no go she neva say a word.

6. Times r very hard but those conditions r not good for the kids!

Side note… A lot of the DH careless females do this. Leave their kids at night to go to dance.

7. Mi empathize wid di situation weh di poor children dem did a guh true…mi still nuh understand why di madda neva tink bout di safety ah di pickney dem. Suppose di house did ketch ah fire when she nuh di deh? Mi nah guh seh it nuh haard fi some people, but betta choices have tuh be made, someway, somehow. Dis ah too much fi di pickney dem :sorry

8. Time hard good pay work nuh easy fi come by n u can’t fully depend on these men so y not jus use birth control n not bring a innocent life into poverty n misery