A cashier at the Firearm Licensing Authority’s office in Montego Bay, St James has been sentenced to a suspended prison term and ordered to pay a fine after she admitted to stealing debit card information from applicants.
Claudine Morgan was ordered to pay a fine of $100,000 or six months imprisonment at hard labour on the charge of possession of data device and sentenced to six months imprisonment at hard labour suspended for two years on the charge of possession of identity information on May 29.
This was after she pleaded guilty in the St James Resident Magistrate’s Court to charges laid against her by the Revenue Protection Division (RPD) under the Cybercrimes Act.
This is the first such conviction for the RPD under this legislation.
Morgan, who was arrested and charged in September 2013, reportedly used a ‘skimming’ device to capture data from debit cards presented to her by people paying for firearm licences.
The full investigation revealed that information obtained in this manner was passed to others and these customers were subsequently defrauded of sums by way of withdrawals from ATMs.
A person like that should not be allowed to get a suspended sentence.
In Jamaica dem mek excuse fi thieves so no surprise
Very true; the fine does not seem like much either. With small fines and little or no jail time, folks won’t be deterred. I hate walking around with cash and folks like her will force me to only use cash when I am in Jamaica.
Cash is more dangerous but better. Lot of white fraudsters now in Jamaica to do bank / card fraud so its the best and only way
I agree again and that place folks like me is a quandary.
Sadly, it happen in the US with great regularity. The only time they skimmed by card was in the US at one of the major restaurant chain. The card was maxed-out (~$10K) within 15-minutes in Columbia, South America. Found out the card was maxed-out when I went to rent a car at the airport in Jamaica.
Claudine, you have your work, why you go get criminal record now? Claudine, why you​ do it? Why you want to teck up what you never puddung? Claudine, leave ppl tings. Unno bawl bout job hawd fi find, and all kind a tings and here you gainfully employed wid the possibility of advancement and you still had to mess up a good thing. What is wrong wid unno? Why unno caan learn a trade fi a legit side hustle and leave ppl money alone? Likkle event planning, catering, baking, weightloss consultant, nutrition coach, life coach, career coach, cxc tutoring, chicken farming, pimento and pepper selling..etc. All legit side hustles you could do fi supplement​ your income, no, di ongle thing unno pea brain can come up wid is thieving.
Mi sorry fi unno. When a theft you fired fah getting another job in a big company is impossible cause dem all do criminal check now, and while dem may forgive some tings, thieving is not one of dem. Please try guh Heart Academy guh learn a trade and see ppl tings and leave it alone.
Shoulda lock har up cause all she ago do a teef fi pay it back.