COURT CLERK ARRESTED FOR NOT SIGNING SAME COUPLE MARRIAGE LICENSES

HOME>U.S.
Kentucky Clerk Kim Davis in Custody for Contempt of Court Over Same-Sex Marriage Licenses
Sep 3, 2015, 2:31 PM ET
By MEGHAN KENEALLY and ALEX PEREZ

A Kentucky county clerk, Kim Davis, was taken into custody today after a judge found her in contempt of court for her refusal to issue same-sex marriage licenses.

U.S. District Judge David Bunning ruled against the Rowan County clerk before deputy marshals removed her from the courtroom.

Bunning said Davis could be released if she complies with the order to resume issuing licenses. She has refused to issue marriage licenses to anyone, arguing that such a move was a way around discriminating against same-sex couples.

Another Gay Kentucky Couple Denied Marriage License by Controversial Clerk
Contempt Motion Filed Against Kim Davis, Still Refusing to Issue Licenses
The ACLU had asked that she be fined but the judge said he didn’t believe that was enough to force her into action.

Mat Staver, founder and chairman of Liberty Counsel, which is representing Davis, said in a statement, “Everyone is stunned at this development. Kim Davis is being treated as a criminal because she cannot violate her conscience. While she may be behind bars for now, Kim Davis is a free woman. Her conscience remains unshackled.”

Other supporters include GOP presidential candidate Mike Hukabee, a former Arkanas governor, who tweeted:

The controversy surrounding her refusal played out today in court, where the judge had told her to appear after the Supreme Court this week refused to intervene in an appeals court’s affirmation that she issue the licenses.

The crowd of marriage equality supporters that had gathered outside of the courthouse in Ashland, Kentucky, began to cheer as the news spread.

Davis was called to testify at today’s hearing and she reiterated that she believes issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples is against her religious beliefs, even though she has been ordered to do so as a result of an earlier Supreme Court ruling.

“My conscience will not allow me,” she said several times during her testimony.

On the stand she was quiet, almost whispering, and teared up when talking about her religious beliefs.

“I did a lot of vile and wicked things in my past,” Davis said when asked about her life before becoming a Christian in 2011.

0 thoughts on “COURT CLERK ARRESTED FOR NOT SIGNING SAME COUPLE MARRIAGE LICENSES

1. Well atleast she standing strong in her convictions! As dem say “If you don’t stand for Something, you will fall for Anything!”

All she have to do tho is give up that job. That is a requirement of her position, so in the legal sense, she is wrong. The people hire you to do a job, you HAVE to do it! Don’t want to do it, then leave! SIMPLE!!!

2. Them sue the man who refuse to make the wedding cake for the lesbian couple and win over $100,000. Now this them soon outlaw being a heterosexual. I cannot believe the direction the world is taking. The battle is real, it’s spiritual and the demons want everyone to succumb to the almshouse. Me glad someone stand up for their beliefs. But jail really, a so dem plan fi jail di whole a wi. whey no believe inna di nassyness.

3. Not supporting this bitch!

I imagine her having this position if segregation was still around and a so she would have flung har nasty christian values pon me black ass. And I bet she give black people hell when dem come fi conduct business.

Dem devil yah is the darling princesses of the KK and wouldn’t surprise she have a sheet and pillowcase hanging in her closet like a victoria secret robe.

1. Yes I agree the clerk office is not her personal business..She cant do that is either she dweet or leave the job..If is her personal business place then she can exercise her right but if a public/government she a work she haffi obey that law

1. She’s an elected official. Her bosses gave her a mandate to follow all if at state level they don’t want to comply; she is in violation of her position because religion and politics must not be use to make decisions in public administrative duties.

She fi remove herself from the office and go clap tambourine full time 😀

1. Dem have fi lock har up 😀 😀 cause somebody else with such authority will do the same. Dem think dem above the law 😀

Me neva know say bubba an homer inna dem parts de would venture out a de double wide fi marriage licenses 😀 rotrf!

4. Genesis 2:24, Matthew 19:5, Ephesians 5:31, Romans 1:27, Leviticus 18:22, Leviticus 20:13. Lady stand firm in your believes. Jesus Christ is the rock on which we stand all other ground is sinking sand. Christians must live in this world but not a part if this world. We must be sober in this present world.

1. Yes but she can leave the work and stand firm on the rock is not like a her place…its different when u a work in a job like that to say ure standing by your beliefs