CRUISE SHIP WITH ITALIAN PASSENGERS ALLOWED ENTRY

A cruise ship with Italian passengers on board was granted permission to dock at the Ocho Rios Terminal in St. Ann Friday afternoon after health authorities determined that the visitors would not pose a public health risk.

However, the Italians were not allowed to disembark.

On Thursday, Jamaica imposed travel restrictions on Italy and four other countries which have recorded cases of coronavirus.

Health Minister Dr. Christopher Tufton told Radio Jamaica News that information on individuals aboard the vessel was provided, and having satisfied this requirement, the authorities granted the ship access.

More than 3,000 tourists were on board the vessel.

Dr. Tufton said four persons aboard the ship exhibited flu-like symptoms, however, they did not have a travel history of visiting countries with cases of the coronavirus.

Vendors concerned

Meanwhile, Mayor of St. Ann’s Bay Michael Belnavis, said vendors at the Ocho Rios craft market expressed concern after the cruise passengers were allowed access.

He said many of the vendors were paranoid, however, he has been trying to help soothe their fears.

Patient in isolation tests negative for coronavirus

In the meantime, Dr. Tufton said the patient who was isolated at the Mandeville hospital in Manchester as a precaution to the threat of the coronavirus tested negative.

The result was provided to the Health Ministry Friday.

6 thoughts on “CRUISE SHIP WITH ITALIAN PASSENGERS ALLOWED ENTRY

1. This so call dr tufton is not easy at all. First, he is not a medical doctor. He is not in a position to medically assess the current coronation virus situation. This fool uttered that if the virus reaches Jamaica, jamaica can deal with it. Òther countries are turning away people who have symptoms and this IMBECILE IS ALLOWING THESE PEOPLE ON THE ISLAND. Should this virus reaches jamaica, I hope you will be the first to be inoculated. You dam pompous idiot. STOP ACTION AS IF YOU ARE MEDICALLY TRAINED, YOU ARE NOT. YOU ARE AN IMPOSTER.

2. CHRISTOPHER TUFTON YOU IS A WICKED BWOY YOU FI GET RUN WEH YOU DONT CARE ABOUT JAMAICAN PEOPLE FUCKING IDIOT!! HOW MUCH DEM PAY YOU AND ANJUE HOLNESS CROSSES UNNO

3. TUFTON U A DOCTOR BWOY A KILL YOU PLAN FI KILL JAMAICAN PEOPLE NOW PUSSY HOLE BWOY. ITALY IS ON LOCKDOWN AND TEK IN ITALIAN SHIP

4. So all the other passengers were allowed to disembark but not the Italians?!….but aren’t those other passengers and the Italians on the same vessel?!…makes no sense.
    The ship should not have been allowed in the first place.

Let’s hope that the government can cope if and when this thing hits the citizens.
    If I’m honest, I’m quite surprised that Jamaica (little China),because let’s be honest, the Chinese have taken over Jamaica, I’m shocked, it’s not there already.

5. Tufton is not a qualified trained doctor. He has no training in the medical field. His academic training was based on bussiness. Check Wikipedia. He got this so called doctorate because of the level of education he (studied?) studied. THE DR BEFORE IS NAME IS BULL DODO. gwan let this imposter fool unno. You dont se seh a one idiot dat?