DANCEHALL MADNESS FI REAL REAL…BUT DIS IS NOT DANCEHALL

DSC_0113-Optimized
THERE has never been a shortage of the daring in the dancehall: be it lyrics, fashion, or dance.
Trends in the latter, however, have been raising a few eyebrows over the years. Bottle sucking, the latest trend to emerge, sees females poking several glass bottles in their mouths and seductively sucking on them while dancing.
Recently, a photograph of a female sucking on four beer bottles made the rounds on social media sparking rousing debates.
General practioner Dr Orlando Thomas said that although the muscles of the mouth were made to stretch and return to its regular position, jawbone dislocation can result from such a practice.
“As with the case of persons who participate in regular eating competitions, pain and jawbone dislocation can occur. There is also a possibility of the bottles breaking, which will result in injury to the mouth and throat,” he said.
The medical doctor also said that persons who are involved in such a practice are at risk of contracting hepatitis B and oral herpes.
“It is possible that some of the females are sucking on bottles that others drank from and hepatitis B can be transmitted by body fluids,” he warned.
Cultural analyst Dr Donna Hope Marquis sees these various explicit and almost pornographic acts by women as a direct response to the incursion of groups of men into the central spaces that were once solely reserved for them.
“More and more men are taking over dancehall’s limelight/videolight as dancers. Women have been pushed out of the limelight/videolight,” Hope Marquis told the Jamaica Observer.
She said male dancers are now reaping the intangible rewards which include status, hype, and recognition which translates into music video appearances, appearances in television ads and paid performances.
“The response, quite unplanned and unconscious, is to up the ante with attention-grabbing activities that will resonate in dancehall’s graphic and extreme spaces,” she said.
Hope Marquis said that one can expect these activities to increase and become more extreme as the women continue to be pushed out of these central spaces within the dancehall.

0 thoughts on “DANCEHALL MADNESS FI REAL REAL…BUT DIS IS NOT DANCEHALL

1. This makes alot of sense I am not Jamaican but I love the food and culture. I recently visited Jamaica 3 wks ago and couldnt believe how the women were acting I was shocked to say the least. The men were no better I never saw so much men with bleached out faces ever!!!!!!!!!The country is beautiful and the people treated me so nice but the party scene is crazy!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Not really.It’s just the degradation of a culture by a more powerful influential culture.Jamaica kept the USA at bay for years until the advancement of cheap broadband internet on cheap Android phones.
    It’s all down gully for the last few years.
    Years ago in the early 90s we had just started getting cable TV in our area .They had a channel that showed dances some of which were from America.I remember the ones from New York being very disturbing with men putting their heads down there and so on.Lot of the women would show their privates .Because cable was not universal these trends never caught on .
    In the early 2000s came the uptown culture and the somehow the skinout in video started moving to the show her private in video.This got so out of hand that even the DJs that embraced it started hitting out against the acts.
    Now we have a set of Young people who are exposed to sex and porn on a level that is unprecedented.They are embracing stuff the Americans took decades to become accustomed to.I don’t know where we will go from here.

3. And Jenny from d Block that bleach out face and over sexuality ting tells u alot about the deep demons and hidden psychologica dl and sexual dysfunction most of these people living this life are secretly carrying.
    The FACT that this article article of bottles in your mouth made it into a news article says a lot.
    So many sick men only see women as sexual objects and sperm bags to satisfy their own lacking sexual prowess!
    And d type of women that would resort to bottle sucking says a lot about their LOW self-esteem, lack of pride and education.

4. mattie dem beggie too much make mi wah cry dem got the little youth dem weh bout 9 yr start beg and you can’t tell deh no and when you give dem fi go by food dem ago buy weed instead smh jamaica a lost cause now tears in mi eyes and everybody a sell sum ting gal all sell pussy dance mi and cuz go weedy weddy and a gal asking him if him want by sum last week $1500 mi run her like dawg and the gal wah fight mi off

5. JAY YOU HAVE NEVER EVER EPLAINED IT ETTER….. NO WAY TO EXPLAIN IT AS SUC. EXPOSURE BY CABLE AND THE USE OF CELL PHONES HAS TURNED OUR OUNTRY IN ONE DEMONIC PLACE. CRIME HS INCREASE SICE HENCE THE SCAMMNG ISSUES GOING ON NOW.

Leave a Reply to Anon Cancel reply