DEFENSE TRIES TO MAKE POLICE OUT TO BE LIARS- KARTEL TRIAL

What a set a liars…read the below..
20120718-VYBEZ_KARTEL-Optimized

DEFENCE attorney Pierre Rodgers yesterday blasted the police and the prosecution during his closing arguments in the Vybz Kartel murder trial in the Supreme Court in downtown Kingston.

Citing the police action as a disgrace, Rodgers did not mince words as he addressed the jury.

“What causes the most shame and disgrace is the behaviour of the police in this case. I have never seen police officers lie through their teeth in front of a jury. I have never seen police officers lose critical pieces of evidence. I have never seen police officers tamper with evidence by leaving keys on lockers,” Rodgers said.

Rodgers, who is representing Kahira Jones, singled out cyber crimes expert Sergeant Patrick Linton as the object of his chagrin.

He said the BlackBerry message extracted from a cellular phone ascribed to Vybz Kartel, in which someone allegedly boasted that Clive ‘Lizard’ Williams was chopped up ‘fine fine’, was created after the phone was taken from the artiste.

“The worst of it is a BB message ‘wi chop up the boy Lizard’. Evidence presented by the crown shows that text was created three hours after the phone was seized by police,” Rodgers said.

Labelling the behaviour of the police as ‘criminal’, ‘unscrupulous’ and ‘immoral’, Rodgers also blasted head of the Flying Squad, Senior Superintendent Cornwall ‘Bigga’ Ford. He said SSP Ford had not only lost his notebook, but had handed over more phones than he had taken from the accused.

“Him get six phone but is 10 him give Pitt? If this is not evidence of a police makeup then what is? Weh the other four phones come from? Ten phones versus six, him tek the whole a we fi idiot,” Rodgers told the jurors.

Lead prosecutor Jeremy Taylor also came in for a tongue lashing from Rodgers who informed the court that he was once wearing the hat of prosecutor.

“On the evidence presented to you I don’t know how a prosecutor could think he could make you feel sure. Why tamper with the evidence? Why pretty up the thing if you feel good evidence is there? Is it that he is asking you to bury your head in the sand. Mr Taylor is doing nothing more than facilitating the police in this foul plot,” Taylor said.

Earlier attorney Miguel Lorne, who represents Shawn ‘Storm’ Campbell, said the prosecution was clutching at straws and also accused the police of bungling and manipulating the investigation.

Vybz Kartel, Jones, Campbell, Shane Williams and André St John, are expected to hear their fate in the next few days after Rodgers, Tamika Harris and Everton Dewar present their closing arguments, and Justice Lennox Campbell sums up the case and hands it to the jury for their verdict.

The trial will continue today when Rodgers is expected to continue his closing argument.

0 thoughts on “DEFENSE TRIES TO MAKE POLICE OUT TO BE LIARS- KARTEL TRIAL

1. The important question is did Mr. Rogers prove what he is stating above, other than injecting his own opinion on what he “believes” to be a “corrupt” mis-cradle of justice!
    Kartel will be found not guilty but not innocent!!!!!

1. No he did not. My question is why him and Tavares have two different wordings fi di text dem se was made..If it had happened as he said the judge would have dismissed the evidence.

1. met dats my point…some corruption goin on here…..if kartel get freed it will be because jamaicas’ judicial system is just as f$#ed up as the “police”.
        How can there b a fair trial!!!!

1. The police had explained about the time of the text and the 3 hour difference was because one machine mussy did ina greenwich meridian time so dem a spin it back now a jus trix

2. Met, I’ve had enough of this circus. Defense should stop! Jury bored and turned off…being repetitive isn’t doing them no rass favor. All it a do a turn the jury off and a drive home any doubts planted in the minds of the jury against the defense. De deperation start smell like fresh, hot dog $h!t.

2. Then again we do know for real that the police in jamaica are f#$@ed up and unscrupulous. They shoot to kill, they are angry, greedy and of course very bad mine!!!
    Of all of my readings about jamaican police they have never been good. My own jamaican people can tell you stories about police injustice and corruption in jamaica, goin on right now. I am not a born jamaican, I am jamaican by blood. This is just my honest opinion……of course the convo iz always up for debate! :bingung

So now bcause kartel is on trial, the police are now outstanding….i do not believe in folly, i believe in keeping it real, for real.
    If kartel is a murderer they are murderers too, becaw ah nuff people, (innocent) dem kill, an still killing under the name of the law, today in jamaica. I wouldn’t trust nun ah dem…..wid me life!

1. A whole letter was forged not by the police but a letter was forged and the defense tried to pull it off as if it was written by Chow..I hear se when the prosecution draw fi di letter Tavares nearly dead :ngakak

1. lol again met unuh c “corruption” widda capital C!!!!!
        And if chow did not write that letter, who did, and y would a defense lawyer present tampered evidence for his case!
        Tavares is an ass and thats y kartel will be found “not guilty”. If the judge is prudent and wise, he might be able to direct the jury.
        I just have so much anxiety for this to be over!!! :nohope

2. MI LIKE HOW YOU KEEP IT REAL LONDON AND NOT BEING A FOLLOWER LIKE SOME ON HERE WHO CAN’T FORMED THEY OWN OPINION… ITS EVIDENTLY CLEAR THAT THE POLICE CORRUPT THE WHOLE CASE.. YOU CAN’T COMPARE THE DEFENSE AND THE ” LAW’ KEEPER WHEN IT COMES TO KEEPING THE LAW

1. The lapse in time was due to the fact that both systems had two different time in their systems..di phone had one and their system had another

3. This whole thing is confusing, on one hand you have kartel stating that Lizard was not at the premises on aug 16, then we hear shawn storm saying he along with chow and Lizard were there, then there is wee’s testimony (under oath) that all 3 of them were at the house and went inside the house. Then you kartel saying the only time he had seen Lizard is when shawn storm carries him to stage shows but then call records prove that kartel knows Lizard and voice notes prove that kartel not only knows Lizard but also knows where he lives. Tangled Web!!

1. tavares-Finson, in my opinion, should have called gaza slim to the stand but then again their argument is conspiracy so her testimony wouldn’t validate that claim. If my mom was on trial for murder and the alleged victim robbed me days after his alleged death I definitely would be appearing in court to let the judge and jury know I saw this man so he couldn’t be dead.

4. Di prosecutor prove dat a murder take place an di motive for it….the defense a insinuate a conspiracy but put forth no motive….like I sed b4 we all know Jamaica police dem already especially Bigga ford dem, dey don’t play…if dem hate kartel to di extent as di defense claimed, dem Wudnt bring him een alive, dem wud leave him fi gwaan keep up him antics an wait till di opportunity present itself to take him out like dem do a lotta odda badman…..dey cud have easily kill him widout anything leading back to dem, it wud have jus been anodda unsolve murder….dem didn’t hav to kill him cuz di evidence is ovawhelming.

1. Kartel dem guilty and for the same said resason it isnt that ez to kill him…it wud have been a big uproar…the police are jus having a difficult time proving it.

5. I THINK ALOT OF PEOPLE CONFUSED ABOUT THE CASE.. ITS NOT ABOUT IF YOU BELIEVE HE IS GUILTY OR NOT.. ITS ABOUT IF YOU CAN PROVE IT IN THE COURT OF LAW WITHOUT CORRUPTING THE EVIDENCE AND IN MY OPINION THE PROSECUTION FAIL AT DOING THAT.. ANY BODY CAN BELIEVE SOMEONE IS GIULTY OF A CRIME BUT CAN THE CONVICT THEM IN COURT?? OPINIONS OPINIONS

6. if his recorded voice is not proof and the young man saying that his girl should call the police and save his life I do not know what is …we have two witnesses here one was killed and the other one was in court presenting the story again…the defence keep dragging out the argument because they have no case …..the police would not waste so much time on kartel when they could have shot him in a drive by in a unmarked car

Leave a Reply to London5948 Cancel reply