DEM SEH NO MANDATORY FEE TO BE CHARGED FI SCHOOLS

Education Minister Senator Ruel Reid has warned schools to abide by the ministry’s policy which declares that there should be no mandatory fees charged to parents.

The minister’s reminder is in response to concerns raised by parents whose children attend St. Thomas Technical High school.

They have expressed alarm about the near 100 per cent increase in the School Development Fund, which has moved from $3,500 to $6,500.

The parents also pointed out that there is a new policy which requires all students to pay a fee of $2,000 before they receive a registration package.

Speaking with RJR News on Tuesday, Senator Reid said the parents are not obligated to pay the fees if they can’t afford it.

“That is the policy and there is no prinicpal or board that I’m going to be tolerating breaching that because I have said if such a principal or board is going to breach those policies, I’m going to ask them to remove themselves and I’m going to fire that board,” the education minister warned.

2 thoughts on “DEM SEH NO MANDATORY FEE TO BE CHARGED FI SCHOOLS

1. The schools that increase school fees are a set a dishonest schools, principle is principle. I use to work at a high school along with the bursar, and sometimes i would go out to the main office and parents would say they cant afford 100% of the school fees and u had staff that knew those parents could be qualified for cost sharing and they did not reach out to some of those parents. I am telling u, school administration staff can be evil n vindictive, so u know i watched for a while n i decide to take my lunch time the following day n offer to help in the main office, that day eho nuh get 50% cost sharing, got 100%. This man i remember got 100% is like the man carry his farm just to thank me. The schools love money n they did not like cost sahring because the government dispense the money like a year after n the schools are money grabbing institution. With this new system niw the monies are sent to the schools before the new school term begins so any school hike dem fees the ministry needs to take very strong actions. Some a dem school yah too dammm thief n vindictive.