DEM SEH RAMIDAL FAMILY WORRIED BECAUSE POLICE CANNOT ESTABLISH A MOTIVE FOR FAMILY MURDERS

Almost three weeks after the fatal shooting of a second family member in the space of three months, members of the Ramdial family are living in fear as they still try to determine what is behind the murders.

Late last month, 70-year-old Dennis Ramdial was ambushed and shot dead as he stood outside his business place on Beechwood Avenue in St Andrew.

That came some three months after his son Richard was peppered with bullets inside his Mercedes sport utility vehicle along Ruthven Road, also in St Andrew.

Last week, family members told The Sunday Gleaner that they were worried as the police seem no closer to finding the killers.

“Everybody is afraid because we don’t know what is what. The shock and not knowing what’s going on, I think that is where the big problem is. Nobody knows what the killings are stemming from,” said a male relative.

“It is not a random case. I don’t know about Richard but when it comes to the father, him and nobody not in anything, no problems. He was just going about his business not knowing that his life was in danger. Unfortunately, the killers thought otherwise.

“We really think that it is coming from the son. As for exactly what it is, we don’t know as yet. He (Richard) was a very private person in his dealing and those things. He didn’t really talk and let anybody know what was going on,” added the male relative.

Last week, Senior Superintendent Jacqueline Green, head of the St Andrew Central Police Division, described the investigation into the killings as highly sensitive.

“The investigation is ongoing, the Major Investigative Task Force and the St Andrew Central police are probing the incidents. It is a highly sensitive and, unfortunately, we have no additional information right now,” said Green.

“Anybody would be fearful. It is natural. What we can do is ask the divisional commander in their area of residence to provide some amount of assistance, even if it is to increase periodic patrols there,” added Green, as she responded to reports of the fears of the relatives.

Word on the streets is that Richard Ramdial was paid J$5 million and US$20,000 for a transaction by a client.

He allegedly tried to double the money in gambling endeavours but failed.

That was when his 70-year-old father allegedly committed to paying back the sums.

Sunday Gleaner sources claim that the elder Ramdial fell short on the payments and both men were subsequently killed.

But the police say they have no evidence to support these claims and they are still not certain that the two killings are linked.

“We will be doing a case conference soon, and when that is done, we will be able to see if that is indeed so,” said Green.

12 thoughts on “DEM SEH RAMIDAL FAMILY WORRIED BECAUSE POLICE CANNOT ESTABLISH A MOTIVE FOR FAMILY MURDERS

1. Transactions gone awry!!!! Duuuuh kmt! The son was very much mix up, Damion Crawford is a next one! Only thing abt these types of men they are not seen associated with the dregs and undesirables of society drug dealers men in public but behind close doors and phone calls they are buddies! It is wen things like this happen that’s when light is shed on these upper class light skinned people of who they truly are and their dirty dealings! it is like Wen a gyal seh shi naa no man but u can’t hide pregnancy! Everything must come to light! NO MORE GUCCI FOR U SIR! Mi want Waldy funeral shower wit gun shots! Damn ole dirt! Government mustn’t allow funerals for these types of men!!!

1. Yes, the killer(s) might not get their money, but in their mind, they derive some form of satisfaction. In my limited world, a lot of these type of killing stem from disrespect. You owe someone money and when asked, you tell them all manner of disrespecting words or even threats. That doesn’t bode well with some section our population, where respect is demanded.

2. jamaica is a place filled with scammers, and i dont mean lotto scammers only ; everyone is trying to rob, outsmart,etc the other ,
    if you are building a house look out for the thieving contractors,unfair persons are all over the island , unfortunately sometime these unfair person try to cheat the wrong person and end up 6 foot 6 , its a sad stoy but may god help us all.

3. A lot of uptowners have seriously gambling addiction serious I tell you. Lose house, car and their lives to gambling but we all know the family knows what is up check the response of the male relative.

4. Drugs money that was wash and cant give account for by Richard ok family member.. Father RAMDIAL was because he knew who was behind his son killing ,and decided to pay to get rid of dem.
    miss police lady u know u self on the PAYROLL go back go squeal and make mr RAMDIAL dead. That is the story family member and the corrupt police know the full hundred..

5. So yu mean fi tell mi seh no phone records nuh run inna dis ya case? D police nuh know who dem did a correspond with? Unnu could a fool me bout unnu nuh know nttn

1. Only if the phone open. Most ppl lock dem phone by pin, thumb print, or drawing a design. I keep my phone unlocked, but I would guess it that 80% or more of ppl with cellphones keep it locked. So if the police can’t get in the phone then ain’t shit they can do with the info that is locked up in there and could possibly solve a murder.