DETAILS ABOUT ZOE KING’S DEATH

TODAY should’ve been the day Zoe King relocated to Kingston from St Catherine, but her preparations were cancelled on Wednesday.

The 40-year-old pregnant woman was gunned down at a home she shared with her common-law husband Corporal Courtney Linton before he was killed late last year.

The policeman, who was anticipating his second child with King, was shot in the head by gunmen who invaded a round-robin party in his community of Jericho in October last year.

Linton, 35, died on the spot, while another injured man was taken to hospital.

When the Jamaica Observer visited Johnson’s house last year, King, who was visibly pregnant, said she was scheduled to give birth on January 16, 2018.

On Wednesday, the police’s Corporate Communications Unit confirmed that King, who was pregnant with her sixth child, was shot by a group of four men in the same community about 11:15 am that day.

“When I saw her on Sunday she said that it was tomorrow (today) she was going to come to town to her home. She told me to call the truck man and I called the truck man and let him know that [he would be needed] Friday morning,” one of King’s daughters told the Jamaica Observer yesterday.

When calls to King’s cellphone went unanswered shortly after midday on Wednesday, her daughter was not too worried, but little did she know that her mother would never again answer her calls.

“Mi did a call her about 12 o’clock, mi mind just run on her. My sister was doing her hair so mi did a call her to tell her that my sister is here and mi nah get her. Little after, mi just get a phone call say mi mother get shot up. When mi reach round here so, and a saddle up fi go a country mi hear say she dead,” her daughter said, adding that her mother was her best friend.

“Mi and my mother talk bout anything. Mi nuh know how them kill my mother,” she said.

King’s mother told the Observer yesterday that she had no idea that when she saw her only child on New Year’s Eve, it would have been the last time she laid eyes on her alive.

“Mi feel down, down, down bad, ’cause a di only child mi have, nobody else,” she said yesterday afternoon.

Facey said she was at home tending to one of King’s children when she received a phone call that her daughter had been killed.

A family friend, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said she was shocked at the news of King’s murder.

The family friend, who was at home at the time of the incident, said she last spoke with King on Boxing Day.

“Zoe was the kind of person who you could send anywhere. She was helpful. I remember when my mother was in the hospital and we could not manage to go because of work, she went. I remember also when my brother was taken into [police] custody she went to visit him and she never even knew him. She loved the elderly. She loved her children. She was kind,” the family friend said.

When the Observer contacted Senior Superintendent of Police Beau Rigabie, who is in charge of the St Catherine North Division, yesterday, he was unable say if the couple’s killings were linked.

He also disclosed that the police have not yet established a motive for King’s murder.

One thought on “DETAILS ABOUT ZOE KING’S DEATH

1. Father God deal wid dem WICKED, mek dem wan dead and can’t, Tired of dem now. People start talk a who a duh di killing and unit as a people. Run di demon dem, GOOD OVER EVIL. RIP, Lord I pray for comfort, strength and Peace for her children, family and loveones