DI STAR DUS PUT UP BOUT OMAR COLLYMORE TRY LEF JA..STAR YUH TOO BAD…WHY WOULD THEY BAR HIM FROM LEAVING JA THEN RELEASE HIM??

Husband tries to leave Ja the day before wife’s funeral

Omar Collymore, who was shot and injured in New Kingston on January 19, was apprehended at the Norman Manley International Airport last Saturday after he tried to leave the country.

The police at the Norman Manley International Airport confirmed that he was arrested, but were unsure of the circumstances under which this was done.

The news team also learnt that after his arrest at the airport, he was taken to the Constant Spring Police Station, but was later released.

Collymore’s name was on many lips recently after a video surfaced following the shooting that took place at a business place on Belmont Road in New Kingston.

Interestingly, he was trying to leave the country the day before his wife’s funeral.

His wife, Simone Collymore, was killed on January 2. Reports are that she was travelling in a taxi in Red Hills, St Andrew, when gunmen opened fire, hitting her. The taxi driver was also killed.

When checks were made, the police said that investigations are ongoing.

9 thoughts on “DI STAR DUS PUT UP BOUT OMAR COLLYMORE TRY LEF JA..STAR YUH TOO BAD…WHY WOULD THEY BAR HIM FROM LEAVING JA THEN RELEASE HIM??

1. Well, unless they’re ready to charge him, after a certain point, they have to release him. Unfortunately I just don’t know how they can keep tabs on him. Time.

2. But let justice roll on like a river, righteousness like a never-failing stream! Waiting for justice, and I pray it’s swift.

3. They have not formally charged him but they can tell him he is a person of interest and can’t leave island while being investigated. Met no info on the driver,he seem to be the fotgotten victim.

4. Plausibly, this was actually a clever delaying tactic. Under Jamaican laws, specifically the Constabulary Force Act sections 50B and 50F, the police may detain you without laying a charge for a maximum of 24 hours, beyond which your counsel would seek a Habeas Corpus for your release from unlawful detention if the police have failed to charge you. The detention however must be based on reasonable grounds which arguably in this situation the police could find. They may not have as yet sufficient evidence to lay a charge against him and in an effort to prevent him from leaving the country and risk never seeing him again, as extraditions are an uphill battle when small island developing states are the ones making the request to powerful countries (scales of extradition certainly imbalanced) or worse yet he may just dissapear into thin air, they chose to detain him. The issue now as someone pointed out is keeping tabs on him. If he has a good lawyer coupled with scarce police resources the task can be very cumbersome. I really hope the Police under the advise of relevant prosecutors are doing this one by the book as we cannot afford for a technicality to lead to ‘system or procedural justice” but not justice for the victim or to the prevention of the truth ever coming to light if in fact he is responsible.

5. Pussy! A di wrang country yuh come buck up inna… yuh a dead pan di yawd soil pussy! yuh come kill one a we own an waaaah leff? it naaaaa go work ooooooo… yuh a dead pan dat tuh…. whey yuh feel like.