Telecommunications company Digicel says the challenges which its customers have been facing and which were highlighted by Chairman of the Consumer Affairs Commission (CAC) on Thursday are issues it has been grappling with for the last year due to changes in the industry.
CAC Chairman Kent Gammon said there has been a spike in complaints from customers of Digicel and Flow over the last few weeks.
Mr. Gammon said the complaints concern mainly excessive charges for mobile data services, as well as poor customer service.
In a statement Friday morning, Digicel said it, like other entities worldwide, have been moving to adapt to major changes in terms of technological advances, customer needs and the competitive environment with the prevalence of Over the Top operators like WhatsApp and Facebook.
Digicel said it has requested a meeting for early next week with Mr. Gammon to discuss the challenges and ways to alleviate the problems.
Gm All,
Met yesterday Digicel bruck dung fi ova 5hrs severely inconveniencing hundreds of thousands of ppl!!Dem a gwaan with bare phuckery…issa crisis!
They know there system isn’t working but when you contact them for assistance or refund they advise you that they are not aware of any system issue and you should check the settings on your phone