FACEBOOK BUYS WHATSAPP …………….YUH KNOW SEH FACEBOOK IS……

Facebook said Wednesday that it has agreed to acquire WhatsApp in a $16 billion cash and stock arrangement with the popular messaging application’s parent company. The announcement was made in a filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

The deal for WhatsApp includes 183,865,778 shares of Facebook stock, valued at $12 billion, along with $4 billion in cash. Once the acquisition closes, Facebook has promised to grant 45,966,444 restricted stock units (RSUs) to WhatsApp founders and employees, tacking on an additional $3 billion in value to the deal. The additional RSUs will vest over four years following closing.
facebook

“I’m excited to announce that we’ve agreed to acquire WhatsApp and that their entire team will be joining us at Facebook,” Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg said in a post published to Facebook. “Our mission is to make the world more open and connected. We do this by building services that help people share any type of content with any group of people they want. WhatsApp will help us do this by continuing to develop a service that people around the world love to use every day.”

WhatsApp has 450 million monthly active users, more than 70 percent of whom are active on a daily basis, Facebook said in a press release. The service is also adding 1 million new registered users per day. The application will, much like Instagram, remain independent from its new parent company.

The astronomical price tag demonstrates just how eager the social network is to subsume one of its largest rivals. Though largely focused on member-to-member messaging, 5-year-old WhatsApp is grown to be greater than one-third the size of Facebook and offers a more insular social networking experience beloved by youngsters and foreigners.

The network gives Facebook an important asset as it seeks to conquer the rest of world and maintain high engagement rates, but WhatsApp won’t become another channel for ads — at least, according to founder and CEO Jan Koum, who will also be joining Facebook’s board of directors.

“You can continue to use WhatsApp no matter where in the world you are, or what smartphone you’re using,” Koum said. “And you can still count on absolutely no ads interrupting your communication. There would have been no partnership between our two companies if we had to compromise on the core principles that will always define our company, our vision and our product.”

0 thoughts on “FACEBOOK BUYS WHATSAPP …………….YUH KNOW SEH FACEBOOK IS……

1. Yuh know seh me feel like fb ah di government doh afta me deactivate my fb now dem gbuy off every odda social network fi track ppl

2. for them to dish out s much money to aquire such a seemingy simple app says a lot.
    Just the move of the darker powers that be for the new world order, all your moves will be tracked and trace. The ultimate form of control. Open your eyes people. nuff awi a sleep!

3. But MET big woman thing . I like your site but did you not know that JMG is a regular fi Feds. A regular them on you site . So every social media a the same thing . Put JMG in to bcz it worldwide like all a them.

4. People buy the stock spy or no spy. Buy what you know FB, TWTR, MSFT, GOOG, AMZN you use these every day. buy people buy. Tax time now invest people you won’t be sorry Google and amazon may not be affordable to you right now but facebook and twitter and microsoft are still affordable. Buy 50-100 shares of each hold for as long as you want as these companies are here to stay. Contact a brick and mortar broker or go online get an account and purchase some stocks. Penny stocks are risky but very affordable look at ganja(cannabis)stocks they can make you a quick buck in a day (see OTCmarkets.com). If you can decipher Met mixup posts then the stock market is a cinch. Do some research the information is out there. Several sites offer free information on any company you wish to own stocks in do your research and buy. Even if you have a 401k or other investment accounts you can still trade on your own and put away some money for you and your children’s furture.