FARMER CAUGHT WITH GANJA SEH HIM PLANT YAM , BANANA AND VEGETABLE MATTER

GANJA

An elderly farmer who was charged with possession of ganja, dealing in ganja and taking steps to export ganja, was denied bail in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Friday.

Hurbert Cover, 65, was held last month at the Norman Manley International Airport with six packs of ganja, weighing 16 and a half pounds, concealed in his luggage.

When caught, the court heard that Cover admitted to the policeman “a ganja”.

He was also said to have uttered: “Lord God a wah dis mi get miself into,” at the time.

Despite this, his lawyer, in making an application for bail, argued that the accused was unaware of what the substance was.

A farmer from Discovery Bay, Cover, when asked about the kind of farming he did, told Chief Parish Judge Judith Pusey that it was an array of crops.

“A lot of things … me plant yam, cabbage, carrot and vegetable matter,” he said.

“Do you travel often?” Judge Pusey inquired.

“I will travel like every six months,” he responded. “I go to Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua. I have relatives in other islands.”

But Judge Pusey wasn’t moved to grant bail.

“Persons like him are chosen to carry narcotics so that when they come before me they expect that compassion will flow out like living waters. No, it’s not going to be like that,” Judge Pusey noted.

Cover was remanded in custody until October 18 when his case will be tried.

3 thoughts on “FARMER CAUGHT WITH GANJA SEH HIM PLANT YAM , BANANA AND VEGETABLE MATTER

1. I know a lot of people will disagree with me or curse me out,but everything went downward in Jamaica(violence,poverty,slackness,literacy issues…) with the explosion of weed and how Bob Marley a militant an icon,made smoking weed “ok”,followed my dancehall artists with many songs dedicated to weed.The effects of THC on the brain and how it influences someone behavior are undeniable but yet people think smoking weed is good.Smoking is bad,period.No matter what it is.People need to stop giving weed special treatment,whatever smudge your judgement is not good for you.Keep him in jail,without bail.He deserves it.65 and still causing trouble.

1. Total f**y u a chat. Go look up why weed was made illegal in the first place. weed does nothing to u. It’s not even addictive. ppl who become addicted to weed a who put grabba(tobacco) or cigarette in it. U do realize that Liquor has caused far more damage than weed can even come close to right?

2. Mi luv weed no lie. An if Mi can’t smoke it I will eat it in pastry an if Mi can’t eat it I’m gonna steam it an drink it. And if Mi caah do dat Dem have pill form now so I will get the pill.

Leave a Reply to Miumiu Cancel reply