FASHION DESIGNER WANTS TO HELP UNEMPLOYED MOTHERS

A young local fashion designer is seeking to form a group that can help the unemployed mothers who were highlighted in the Jamaica Observer article on Monday.

“Today I was able to visit the mothers and made several contributions in the form of food and other items,” the designer Yanique Mitchell told OBSERVER ONLINE in an interview a short while ago.

Mitchell said that while she was happy she could provide today’s assistance she wants to help the women secure some sort of employment.

“I am the type of person who believe that instead of giving a man a fish it is better to teach him how to fish,” said Mitchell.

174615_-Optimized

The fashion designer said that during her discussions with some of the mothers she found that they had talent and were willing to work, but just needed the opportunity.
“Some of the women I spoke to said they were hair dressers, bag makers, some could do nails and with these talents if given the opportunity they can get employed,” said Mitchell, who added that she could do what she could but would not be able to do it alone.

“As a result I am planning to form a group to mobilise other Jamaicans to come on board,” said Mitchell. Meanwhile, scores of Jamaicans at home and abroad have also expressed an interest to provide some assistance.

Kimmo Matthews

2 thoughts on “FASHION DESIGNER WANTS TO HELP UNEMPLOYED MOTHERS

1. Go thru Yanique!!Dweet my girl!!The more help the better!! I wonder if it is a coincidence I had 2 ex girls name Yanique(dem a virgos)…really nice clean heart n giving ppl dem!

2. I hope they take advantage of the opportunity and nuh waste her time and efforts. Counselors should also provide free therapy fi dem cause the root of the problem will not be fixed by just getting a work. They will live in the same communities surrounded by the same energy and likely fall right back to their old habits. Perhaps some relocation effort should be offered at some point down the road.

They also need life skills training; how to get up and take care of their children, prepare them for school, prepare for work, meeting deadlines, nutritional counseling, how to handle a budget for a family, meal preparations, basic first aid and preventative health care, family planning and management..etc.

Yanique, good for you and I wish you all the best with this. Keep us posted on the developments and hopefully the successes as well.