FOUR POLICE GO TEEK 5K USD WORTH A JEWELRY

4 cops held
Fingered in $17-m jewellery heist in Hellshire; US$5,500 also stolen

FOUR policemen have been detained in connection with a robbery in Hellshire, St Catherine, last week when thieves made off with $17 million worth of jewellery, US$5,500 in cash, and other items.

The Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency confirmed yesterday that the officers had been taken into custody, but their identities have not yet been released.

Victims of the robbery — two senior citizens who returned to Jamaica three years ago after living in the United States for more than 40 years — had been visiting relatives in Florida, United States, when a neighbour who went to water their plants noticed things amiss and informed them of the break-in at their house last Monday.

The couple, who requested anonymity, had planned to travel from Florida to New York, but cancelled that trip and returned to Jamaica on Tuesday evening.

They reported the matter at the Hellshire Police Station on Wednesday but things only got worse.

The elderly woman told the Jamaica Observer on Thursday that when she was summoned to her door by men dressed in police uniform, Wednesday night, she thought they had come to take additional statements.

“About little after 8:00 I heard my name called three times, and I called my husband and said there is someone calling. My husband opened the door [and] there were three men — two very tall — dressed like police officers in full blue. I got up and went to the door because they didn’t identify themselves. They didn’t say where they are from and I had already spoken to a detective about the break-in. They ignored me, [but] I insisted on asking where they’re from and they said Portmore,” the woman related.

Sponsored Links
Lemon Alert : Stay Away From These 12 New Cars
Forbes
Dad Forces Daughter to Call Off Her Wedding, Years Later She Finds This In Her Mom’s Wallet.
World Lifestyle
“I said this is Hellshire, and Hellshire cops came, crime unit came Monday, and I spoke to the detective. In fact, he left here at five o’clock, so I don’t understand.

“At that point I got uncomfortable and I backed in. As soon as I backed in the three men rushed my husband. He was right before me and they pushed him up to me, then pushed us into the bedroom.”

She said the men ordered them to lie face down and not to make eye contact. “I heard footsteps running in, ‘bap, bap, bap’. They had big guns and they put a cushion over my husband’s head and put the gun at the back of his head. I started praying aloud. They told me, ‘Shut up, shut up’,” she related last week.

Insisting that she felt she was being targeted, the woman said she was terrified.

According to the woman, the $17 million worth of jewellery, receipts for some of the jewellery, US$5,500, bank statements, among other things, were stolen between Sunday and Wednesday night.

She said: “Seven million dollars worth of jewellery was taken Sunday night. They emptied a draw and [took] everything — watches, rings, jewellery sets. Then they came back (Wednesday) for the other bag that I had secured with [another $10 million worth of jewellery],” she told the Observer.

The US$5,500, said the elderly woman, would have been taken the Wednesday night when men dressed like police assaulted her and her husband and searched the house.

“They have cleaned me out; only God knows what’s next. They even took toiletries, my wigs, make-up, and alcohol,” she said.

The St Catherine South police are investigating.

14 thoughts on “FOUR POLICE GO TEEK 5K USD WORTH A JEWELRY

1. The two tall ones sound like the twin them? One stationed at Hunts Bay and the next one at Hundred Man. Based on what I know they’re kinda crooked.

2. I remember a Metter some time back stating that the police had to come to her home to investigate some matter and all they did while they were in her home was talk about the beauty and quality of the furnishings and other effects. If these men are truly police officers they are freaking scums.

1. Met the funeral folks them will be busy for months. It’s on like boil corn. Murderer blood is on your shoulder. Them just don’t care.

3. So many criminals in the force, but lady WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH SO MUCH ASSETS in your house!? This is not even a Jamaica thing. Jewelry attracts THIEVES. Worldwide.

Plus you got robbed one night and didn’t remove the rest of the items? You go police station go tell them how much jewelry you have in your house? What did you expect lady? Someone help me and make this make sense, because this lady not real.

4. Seventeen million dollars in jewellery could be one item (Rolex watch). Sad as it may seem a lot of ppl do not trust the banking system so they keep their money at home. Realistically $5500 USD could be tax returns/ pension income/ their children gave them. The sad thing is that police are to serve and protect not steal from citizen.

1. Too many C R I M I N A L S in the police force. This is nothing new, they the police’s have been doing this for yrs now and it’s time to put a stop to it. Enough is enough. The blood of Jesus Christ of Nazareth against all the accused perpetrators. This Isn’t fun anymore.

Thou any of the 2 retirees wasn’t harm dangerously, I want them to make a perfect example out of the 4 accused officers. Lock up dem bloodclaat and throw away the keys.

Fucking disgusting pieces of shits.

No wonder our Island cannot be better, because the criminal activities starts in parliament and our government.

Shame shame shame on all the 4 accused and I’d also be ashamed if I were related to any of the accusers.

5. This couple don’t realize how lucky they are to be alive. Don’t worry about jewelry and cash, that can be replace. These thieves don’t respect life. I suggest they go back to Florida and live.

6. a regular man dress as police and rob/kill people a Jamaica. However, based on the timeline of events, it would seem like the police were somehow involved, either they committed the act themselves or passed these people’s information to the robbers. This is more than worrying because If people cannot be reassured that sensitive information given to the police is being handled confidentially, how are they suppose to cooperate with the police in sensitive cases such as murder? These people should sue the police, they are abusing the trust that the public has in them and this is detrimental to all Jamaicans, even more so than the common criminals..sigh

7. Stop call the twin them name some of unno people love run an call man name that unno don’t know. Those twins is too of the hardest working police fighting crime in Jamaica with out dout. They might be streets but trust them man don’t like theft. Am sure is not any of them because a yesterday I was with one of them

8. Yes there have been incidents of police involvement in robberies and other wrong doings…but the approach cannot be to broadbrush paint the entire JCF as criminals.Nuff a unno a the first to lick out when the Yardies are generalized in negativity, yet stay silent when the 90% majority of good police officers are tarnished for the actions of the few!!

My own request is for the majority to band together n push out the wrongdoers,no more see n blind ,hear n deaf mentality..no more a mi squaddie mentality…expose dem n may the full brunt of the law take it’s course against the likes of these 4 vermins.