FREDDY MCGREGGOR, TONY REBEL SPEAK ON CHRONIXX’S STATEMENT

Screenshot_2015-04-11-00-51-17-Optimized

KINGSTON, Jamaica- Motivational deejay Tony Rebel says singjay Chronixx’s statement about Jamaicans glorifying a waste man;, which many argued was in relation to the one-day visit of American President Barack Obama, is unfortunate.

The outspoken reggae artiste criticised the fact that Jamaicans were glorifying a waste man, while Garvey, who he said paved a peaceful and safe path for the US President to address us, still has a criminal record in that country.

His post was made on the second day of Obama’s visit to Jamaica.

Rebel, added however, that if the roots artiste believes the United States Government has done little to clear National Hero Marcus Garvey’s criminal record,he should stand firm. When you are a public figure you become a role model. I don’t expect an artiste to be muzzled but you have to be responsible in what you say,” Rebel told OBSERVER ONLINE.

He added: “At the same time if Chronixx is passionate about Garvey or anything else he should stand by what he said

Meanwhile, Singer Freddie McGregor also commented on the controversial post which has drawn support from some Chronixx fans.”I see where he (Chronixx) said that’s not what he meant so Im ready to give him the benefit of the doubt. Yuh have to be careful about the things you say about the President of the United States. I certainly wouldn’t say that about President Obama,” McGregor said.

In the meantime, Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller indicated that she spoke to Obama about having Garvey’s criminal record expunged.The St Ann-born Garvey was a Pan African giant and leader of the Harlem Renaissance. He was imprisoned in the US in 1923 for mail fraud arising from questionable deals surrounding his Black Star Line company.

He was deported to Jamaica four years later.

0 thoughts on “FREDDY MCGREGGOR, TONY REBEL SPEAK ON CHRONIXX’S STATEMENT

1. dem might be two a mi favorite artist but at the time only wah Chronixx have fi seh matta. him betta have a good reason wid a anadda Jamaica song fi hold him own diss yute a tek on social issues 2 wah dem neva inna suh dem no try talk now

2. di type a behavior weh chronixx display mi did more expect dat from sizzla cuz a him name bun an nuh care lol

3. I know how a waste man behave and I am a 100% sure this man have worked harder than every other president before him.If Chronixx understood what this man has gone through against these white racist people he would keep his mouth shut.They have called this man socialist,Muslim,Barack The Wealth Spreader and many more names. Now this idiot is going to call the man waste man.I think he should make a public opology to the President.

4. BUT TO BE FAIR GIVE ME DETAIL IN WHAT OBAMA HAVE DONE FOR BLACK PEOPLE THAT MARCUS GARVEY DIDNT! AN DONT TELL ME HE’S BECAME THE FIRST BLACK PRESIDENT OF AMERICA!! IN COLON,PANAMA THEY CELEBRATE A WHOLE MONTH IN RECOGNITION OF MARCUS GARVEY HIS HOME THERE IS A HERITAGE SITE!!! WHILE IN AMERICA BLACK LIFE VALUE EVEN LESS SINCE OBAMA BECAME PRESIDENT!!!! CHRONIXX NUH WRONG TO CALL HIM SPADE A SPADE

1. I should give you detail.Think about what was happening in the U.S. in 2007 and you will know what he has done.If the people in America did not have anything to give imagine what would have happened in Jamaica.I can bet 90% or more of the people do not know the history of THE MOST HONORABLE MARCUS MOSIAH GARVEY. Steppa went to the town all meeting and addressed his concerns but Chronixx is going to stay on social media and disrespect President Obama

2. Raul Castro voiced his feelings towards the U.S. and then turn around and apologized to President Obama knowing that he was not responsible for the actions of the previous presidents.

5. Aww bowy! It’s me again lol.. I would like to ask my fellow Jamaican a question.. How are you suppose to go about fighting for something that you strongly believe in? Because I believe we as jamaican are passive, well as black ppl in General. We can’t fight for our rights without offending anyone we gotta get over that smh we have wake up ppl.. Example here in the USA after a black man get shot everyone go out hold hand sing and protest and then it die down.. 2 months later a next black man get shot.. But no let’s go out and hold hands and sing again.. They say a crazy person do the same thing and expect different result, well we must be crazy thinking we going to get respect by being passive.. Someone going to have to stand on the front line and take fire and that’s what chronixx is starting to do.. Have a lot more to say but that’s it for now

6. WE ARE STILL GOING TO B!TCH AT EACH OTHER SEEING WHO IS BETTA OR COME UP WID SOLUTION HOW FI MOVE FORWARD? CHRONIXX A LOOK FI ANSA NO CRABS INNA BUCKET……

1. fi help black people move forward, get education, unit, how fi clear wi heroes name, only great minds can find solutions

7. america whey di CIA try fi assassinate manley in the 70s.unuh think obama care about jamaica unuh need fi wake up

8. He needs to be more responsible for the things that come out of his mouth! So many other Presidents have come and gone before President Obama and nothing was done to clear Mr. Garvey’s record. I tell you about us black people, we never stick together. President Obama has been called every name in the book but for a public figure to degrade the President like that is beyond me. Chronixx or wahra him name be needs to be more diplomatic and be thoughtful about the things he place in this marketplace of ideas. A nuh everything good fi nyam good fi chat!

9. Why would a person want to compare or have others compare the efforts of Garvey and Obama, when the two men lived in different times, had different responsibilities and definitely these two men who were/are not after the same thing?

False equivalency–Garvey is a revolutionary who championed the black liberation cause and Obama is a politician who happens to be black…

Relative to Chronixx, there is no hard feelings–as long as he continues to create good music, I am going to support him.